We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Reflected The Feel Of Astoria”

Silver Salmon Grille
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant Reflected The Feel Of Astoria”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

In Astoria while visiting family in Portland. We spotted the restaurant while walking around hungry. Walked in and really liked the "old days" look and feel of the restaurant. The menu had many interesting lunch options. I chose the halibut fish and chips. They tasted fresh and were propperly prepared. The other three adults and two children also really enjoyed their meals. Not sure if the food was overpriced for the area or not. We did not feel ripped of and everyone left feeling full. A verty good meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GARunner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    174
    51
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
405 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Charismatic establishment with delicious food, reasonable prices!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was our first visit to the Silver Salmon and we were very pleased with everything. Good food, very good service, and a delightful interesting atmosphere to dine in. We went after the rush at lunchtime and both of us had excellent food.

My wife had a salad and halibut. Both were attractive to the eye and the fish was cooked perfectly--moist and flaky. Cheese was part of this dish and added a welcome layer of flavor. i tried their award winning clam chowder and asked for a combination of the halibut and salmon fingers and chips (both are listed, but not in combination). The waiter said they often do that when requested and it was no problem. Wow. This was a real winner! Nicely breaded, crispy on the outside, hot and flaky on the inside. Excellent thickly sliced chips that stayed hot.

Silver Salmon runs ads in the free newspaper that is available for tourists offering 15% off on your meal. We also found their business card at an antique shop nearby that offered 15% off. So, save yourself some money on the bill and apply it to the tip for your server. Win/win!

They understand gluten free and took special care with my wife's food. Absolutely no issues with food or attitude. Our server was terrific!

While waiting for our food to arrive, we strolled around the interior of the restaurant, enjoying the murals and all the fishing based touches. The cherry wood bar in the adjoining pub was especially interesting to see.

Silver Salmon will see our repeat business next time we come to Astoria. Great food at very reasonable prices (even before the 15% discount). This place is a gem!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Needs an update”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It is an old place. The food was good. Service was good. Maybe a little overpriced. The hotel did give us a 15% coupon to use at the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda010659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our hotel offered this restaurant as an option when we asked for a good steak restaurant. To be fair, the hotel showed us several menus and we thought the Silver Salmon Grille's menu looked the best.

Our reservation was for 5:45pm, the restaurant was almost empty and the room we were seated in had 6 other people, yet we were seated at a very small table right next to the kitchen. (The room easily had 15 empty tables.) The restaurant smells old, the material in the seats was cracked and some of it had tape on the cracks.

A waiter came and took our drink order, then a few minutes later another waiter came and said he would be our waiter, suggesting that the fellow who was supposed to be our waiter wasn't around. When I said that our drinks order had been taken the 2nd fellow apologized and said the first fellow must have shown up.

I ordered the filet with clam chowder as the starter, my husband ordered filet with crab cakes and salad for a starter.

My strawberry margarita tasted only of strawberries, the margarita flavour was missing. The clam chowder and salad came very quickly and both were quite tasty. The empty dishes were not removed from the table until our main courses arrived which was quite a while after we had finished the starters.

Both the filet mignons were tasteless and my husband's crab cakes were quite mushy and did not taste good. My filet was supposed to be medium, but was closer to rare.

No appetizers, no dessert and the bill was $75 (before tip) - definitely not worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sashalucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We left without ordering”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived a full hour and a half before closing. The restaurant was not crowded yet we were seated at a tiny table right next to the kitchen. The place smelled like it was long overdue for a carpet cleaning. We took a look at the menu and the high prices and headed for the door. So glad we did, we drove a few blocks to the Pig and Pancake and had a great dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Defling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Salmon Grille also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Silver Salmon Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing