We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We have to say our stay at the Cannery Pier Hotel was a pleasant surprise. Though our daughters were ill with bad colds during our stay, the hotel was the bright spot in our visit. For them, taking a hot bath in the in-room jacuzzi was definitely recuperative. We had a corner one bedroom suite which was spacious and comfortable. The view was spectacular, and having the huge container ships passing so close was special. We took advantage of taking the complementary 1939 Cadillac "limo" into town, and our host took us on a quick trip around downtown pointing out the sights before arriving at the restaurant. When our meal was complete, the restaurant called the hotel and we soon had our ride home. A totally great one-night stay...far too short! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The corner suite was worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    163
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
197
785
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The Cannery Pier Hotel is a quaint, historic, botique hotel on the Columbia river just inside the Columbia Bar. I was treated to ships passing, birds flying, rainbows and a staff that was the most attentive and cordual possible. I can't wait to have the chance to stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Any room is great.....all are on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnsbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, WA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The Cannery Pier far exceeded our expections. The view from our cornor 4th floor suite was stunning. Ships went right in front of our room and the bathtub had a huge window overlooking the River and the Bridge. We looked at other rooms and they were all spacious with fireplaces and the same great view of the River. The staff was incredibly helpful with restaurant and sightseeing ideas. Wine and cheese before dinner, warm chocolate chip cookies in a basket on the front dest when we returned from dinner, and a very nice continential breakfast (complete with fresh fruit, make-you-own waffle, hard cooked eggs) was a step above the usual cold breakfast fare. We paricularly enjoyed riding in the old Cadillac to and from dinner. Everyone working at the hotel has a passion for Astoria, paricularly the owner Jake who we happened to meet. He personally designed and built the hotel and is a most enthusiastic supporter of Astoria, where he grew up, and its renewed attraction as a tourist destination. We spent 2 nights and barely had time to see everything, plus drive to Cannon Beach. We also highly recommend the Bowpicker for fish and chips, Fort George Brewrey, T Pauls, and the outstanding Bridgewater Bistro for dinner. We had a wonderful weekend--go to Astoria and stay at this super hotel ot complete your experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Neat place, unique, not a chain, worth the extra money. Very nice, clean rooms, your out in the river, next to the ships. Binoculars are supplied. The beds, bathrooms with windows, the view - all great. The staff was helpful, they have two antique cars to take you to town in, a must stay place. The only slight disappointment, was a thin continental breakfast. Muffins & waffles, and fruit. A lot of places have some breakfast meats and even eggs these days, but I still recommend +++.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Exceptionally friendly staff couldn't do enough for us. Went out of their way to make us comfortable. Rooms are luxurious, with beautiful views. Well worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevenT9th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

If you’re looking for a great view from your hotel room, Cannery Pier Hotel is very hard to beat. All 46 rooms have unobstructed views of a broad swath of the Columbia River with the Washington coastline beyond--plus the huge freighter boats gliding by, plus the four-mile Astoria-Megler Bridge. The intelligent room layout includes comfy window seats and small balconies. The bed was a bit hard (I adjusted) but there were plenty of pluses, including free wi-fi (which was pretty fast too), a fireplace, TV, a fridge and microwave, a large bath tub and separate shower. They also offer free parking, a free (but small) gym, a free community hot tub and free food (continental breakfast, wine and cheese/snacks in the evening, and freshly baked cookies at night) served in a feel-good lobby with high glass walls and cozy nooks with fireplaces. And since the hotel opened in 2005 you don’t have to worry about “deferred maintenance.” Staff was friendly too. And one of the best restaurants in Astoria, the Bridgewater Bistro, is on the other side of the parking lot. What kicked it up to five stars was that I got all this for less than $700 (out the door) for four nights! (Be sure to check in periodically with the hotel for special discounts—they honor AAA and they were offering 25% off in February!)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veganvessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed over a birthday weekend. I have wanted to stay here for years and finally made it. I loved the location, over the Columbia, and especially enjoyed the ships. They even have a schedule of ships to give you at the front desk, so you know where they are from, where they are headed and what's in them. Staff was very friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations/reservations. The room is large and loved the bathtub that allows a view of the river and ships. The only slight negative is, for the price of the room, the breakfast options could be improved. There was also a wireless internet problem, but they were prompt with an ethernet cable to the room. They were aware of the problem and hopefully that is now fixed.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckyras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing