We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salem, OR
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The hotel is very nice and the service was excellent. The owner gave a speech about the hotel and Astoria while we drank wine and ate cheese - which was included with our stay. My husband said the only 2 things to improve our stay would have been a bigger living room area and 1 big window for viewing the river instead of 3 smaller ones. And an attached restaurant would be nice although there is a nice one about a block away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmartin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    162
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
193
779
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
COPENHAGEN
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed there for two nights, recommended by a friend. The location is fantastic, on an isolated pier right under the bridge with perfect view. Service was great, our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, the entire place feels brand new. The staff was very friendly and we felt went out of their way to help us.

I would consider it a great value, we will go back there soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoraPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We were going to stay here just the 1 night but couldn't resist staying for 2 and probably would have liked to have stayed longer if our schedule allowed . It really is a place that makes you feel special . Would highly recommend it . Was fantastic watching the ships go by .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiepops64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This place was a delight. The room was very large (as was the bathroom) with a view of the Oregon/Washington bridge. The hotel provided a listing of what ships were coming and going as well as binoculars. Very quiet room and substantial breakfast. We particularly liked being chauffeured to dinner by a 51 Cadillac and being picked up by a 52 Cadillac!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiely79
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This place is wonderful... wonderful room, wonderful tub, comfy bed, nice touches with fun little perks. I would love to stay here again but unfortunately the price is a bit prohibative for me!

Room Tip: go in the winter when the rates are cheapest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiely79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Great place on a pier, all of the rooms have a fantastic view of the water. Nice perks like free bikes to borrow, free breakfast (your typical hotel free breakfast with fruit, pastries, waffle maker), glass of wine and fresh chocolate chip cookies in the evenings.

The most unique perk is that since the hotel is a bit away from the main core of downtown (maybe a 10 minute walk), they provide a car shuttle service, using their own restored old cadillacs from the 50s. Just reserve a little while ahead of time and they can drop you at any restaurant downtown and then pick you up later - although the nicest restaurant in town is only a block away.

We rented a suite which was very clean even though it was pet friendly. The bed was very comfy which is the most important thing! The only quibble I have - and it's tiny because we didn't watch TV - is that for a hotel that's supposed to be this upscale, I'm surprised they still had old-style non-HD TVs in our suite.

The property is quiet because it's out on a pier over the water. The parking lot is on the same pier.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed one night while traveling the Oregon/Washington coast. Hotel has the best view in town (out on a pier in the water)! Staff we so friendly and welcoming after a long day of driving! Rooms are so comfortable. One really nice touch was the half&half in the refrigerator so you could have coffee in the room and not half to use the powdered stuff! Just a little more expensive than the other on water hotel properties but well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
686 reviews
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing