We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astoria is a wonderful gem of American history”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Astoria is a wonderful gem of American history”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We came to Astoria to go to the Maritime Museum. What I thought would be an hour or so ended up being five hours. So instead of driving on to Seattle, we got a room in Astoria. The staff at the desk were fantastic. They allowed us to see a room before making our decision. Since it was late in the day, they adjusted the price to a bit lower rate. We took the bait and stayed. All the rooms have a fantastic view of the river. This alone is worth the price of the room. The building is made to resemble a cannery, historic photos of the canneries line the walls. In the evening, you can sign up for a car and driver to take you to a local spot for dinner. We rode in a vintage Cadillac. It was fun, and informative. Astoria is a neat little town.

The room was clean and fresh and clearly thought went into the details of the room. But I'm guessing there were budget cuts before the building was finished. The toilet is in it's own room, a plus, there is a separate shower and a soaking tub, but the lighting is pretty standard. The bed was comfortable, but the sheets were not first class. The furnishings in the room were smart and attractive, but were not heavy duty, I'm not sure they will survive a lot of wear and tear.

These somewhat less then deluxe features would have bothered me if we paid full price.

But, the staff, the view and the historical aspect of the property make it a special place. If you are in the area stop and enjoy Astoria.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    163
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
197
784
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is a gem. You can almost touch the ocean-going ships as they glide by your room. The binoculars are a nice touch. Good breakfast, short walk to an excellent restaurant at the end of the pier, and dog-friendly too. Well worth the tariff.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhirledTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Great views of the river, all the amenities, spacious rooms, ample parking. Expensive stay in what I consider a casual town but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Although I can't quite share the enthusiasm others have for CPH, it is indisputably located in a very cool setting that may be unique enough to offset the (high) price of admission. A romantic spot too. Yes, as others have pointed out, you are smack dab on the mighty Columbia River with shipping traffic passing almost close enough to touch. It's fun, and a pretty unique experience. I'd suggest that you also pay a visit to the Columbia Maritime Museum in Astoria for background on the river's rich history -- it will make your view more meaningful for sure. The hotel offers a fairly spacious lobby sitting area (with views) and more public space on the 2nd floor with games and books available for guests. That said, be forewarned that the CPH falls short of being the "luxury boutique" hotel it claims to be. There are nice touches but nothing above a mainstream establishment. The afternoon wine reception features middling wines and cubed cheese and crackers. Breakfast is the usual fend-for-yourself cereal and muffins (in too small a space). This is simply not luxury. Rooms are well-appointed (though not "luxurious" ) and, from what we could tell (because we actually used 2 rooms, see below) all have jetted tubs and great views. Our first room -- on the first floor -- we discovered had neighbors above that included children bouncing up and down on our ceiling. To the CPH's great credit we were upgraded to a 4th floor suite. Instantly we understood that higher level rooms have better views too, so by all means, ask for a higher floor. Incidentally, the rooms are not especially soundproof, as our experience showed. Even in the suite we could hear the folks next door.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I have always loved Astoria and area, and this hotel just makes it better. It is so nice to sit in your room, or on the small balcony, with a drink and watch the Columbia River and the boat traffic roll by. The quality of the room is also fantastic. It is not cheap but it is worth paying for a unique experience.

However, I think the spa area needs a bit of work (not that we didn't enjoy it).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great stay. Wine and cheese, chauffeured to dinner in a classic car, on the promenade and great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightening996327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle,Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Everything good that has been said about this place is true.We stayed in the off season and got a very good price. To top it off it was pet friendly which was wonderful. We often have to pass on nice places like this because of our dog. Here we were all welcome and just loved our stay here. Being way out on the end of a pier facing the water was an incredible experience. The ship and boat traffic going by our balcony only a few hundred feet away was an amazing thing too see. We've never stayed in a place like this before. The rooms were upscale with quality ammenities. The King bed was very comfortable and we spent a quiet, peaceful night on the waterfront. We would recommend this place to all who visit the historic town of Astoria , Oregon. We must also mention the Bow Picker across from the Maritime Museum. This is a no frills fish and chips joint that knows how to fry good fish. Our dog Buddy liked it too. All in all a wonderful stay out on the old pier at a boutique hotel like none other. Friendly folks at the front desk welcomed us.

Room Tip: If you travel during the off season and book directly through the Hotel's website you can save a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyorancher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,776 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing