We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed there last week and decided to treat ourselves to a suite which was over $400. per night. Although the location and view are interesting, the hotel has completely missed the mark on attention to detail and ammenities. There is no bar or place to get a bite to eat, no room service and no mini bar in the room. The fireplace did not work and the shower was plumbed backwards so it took forever to get any hot water. The shower wall was cracked and leaking. The bathroom heater was covered in dirt and hair. The "suite"furniture is cheap and institutional. They provided only one drinking glass. I would definitely not recommend this hotel as it was extremely over-priced for what you get.
The one positive thing was that the front desk staff were very pleasant and friendly. I felt sorry for them as they had to deal with all of these disappointments.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BCcottageguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannerypierhotel, General Manager at Cannery Pier Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. There frankly is no excuse for the problems you encountered and the Cannery Pier Hotel and staff is deeply concerned about our guests and their experience at the hotel. Since we obviously dropped the ball I would very much appreciate your contacting me so that we find out more and correct the mistakes that happened so they do not happen again. It is my hope that we can restore you faith in the Cannery Pier Hotel and I will make it my personal goal to achieve this end.

Don West
General Manager
503-325-4996
donwest@cannerypierhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    156
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
178
739
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I'm obsessed with the Cannery Pier Hotel! The rooms are amazing--huge tub, great beds, large...but the view is what is just out of this world--huge ships and the bridge. It's spendy, but winter rates are MUCH better than summer. It's totally worth spending the money for a special occasion

Room Tip: All rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyP252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We drove from a stay in Seattle to the coast for 2 nights. Researched hotels on-line and chose the Cannery Pier because of the many positive comments. It's alittle pricey but we decided to splurge. A wise decision. We had a third floor room (they gave a choice between third and first) facing the river. There was a window seat which my little one slept on. Nice to have a fireplace in-room. My son also loved the tub though there was a shower as well. So neat to be right on the water. The big ships come incredibly close. The lobby is cozy with the same wonderful view. Continental breakfast was great. Hard boiled eggs, belgian waffles, pastries, yogurt, etc. Breakfast staff is friendly. They have all the menus from nearby restaurants that you can peruse during breakfast or during the wine and cheese hour. Loved that too!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KoKonutGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our first night on our trip down the Oregon coast, myself, my husband and our 18 yr old son. I'd wanted to start with something memorial and totally relaxing, and from the reviews on the site, the Cannery Pier Hotel was exceptional. The large, historic and slightly plain looking building built right out over the river on a long pier might not look that exciting architecturally, but once you step inside the wonderful, well-appointed lobby and lounge area, you will be captivated by the views, the comfort and the personal and warm service from the front desk. This hotel was scrupulously clean, up to date in every respect, and a pleasure to stay in. The beds were extremely comfortable, and every single room faces the river (is right out over the river!) and has a small balcony, and binoculars are waiting for your use inside on the window ledge, as well as schedule of various types of notable ships that will pass by in front of your room and under the picturesque Astoria Bridge, as they go up the Columbia River, including cruise ships at various times of the year.

The room is a very generous size, and the bathroom is spa-like with a slipper-style soaker tub, bathrobes, large separate tiled shower, and there are small doors that open up over the tub, so that you could take a nice soak and gaze out towards the river. Lovely. The breakfast included with your stay is very nice, self-served in a pleasant little breakfast room off the main lobby and was kept well stocked. Fresh cookies are baked in the evening and available at the front desk, and there is a small but cute gift shop near the front of the lobby. There is an exercise room and jacuzzi room, as well as the ability to book spa treatments in-house. Everything is as it should be for this class of boutique hotel, and I can't recommend it highly enough! Although we were not privileged to stay in the suite upstairs, I hear it is spectacular! We were on the first floor, and importantly to my sleep, no noises intruded on our sleep. The hotelalso has 2 or 3 beautiful vintage cars and a driver on staff to take guests to dinner, or places around town, compliments of the hotel. Pet friendly as well! The Cannery has it all in Astoria.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mercer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I treated ourselves to a two might stay here on a recent trip down the Oregon coast on our Harleys. Rooms all face onto the Columbia River and you are actually out over the water! The ships and other river traffic could not get much closer....even when the ships blew their fog horn at 4:15 in the morning it just added to the ambience! Great breakfast is included and a wine reception each evening! They also offer complimentary rides in a 1958 Cadillac to any place in town with a tour and history of this Victorian city thrown in. No problem for safe parking for the Harleys!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is six years old, although it looks and feels brand new. It is in terrific condition. The rooms are large, clean, and nicely decorated, and ours had a lovely little balcony overlooking the harbor and bridge. The hotel is not cheap, but it is a lovely place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RILnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth. TX
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Go for the view; it's truly superb. The concept on turning a cannery into a hotel is great, but the rooms are not that special; nor is the wine hour or the continental breakfast. Staff very nice and accommodating. Not worth paying for the suite. We had one and it was poorly laid out; a great of waste in space. Saying every room has a balcony is a little misleading since it is only about 18" wide; one could stand out there but no room for a chair. All in all, only worth the cost if the view is the most important thing to you.

Room Tip: suites not well laid out; waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#9 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing