We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Astoria Gem”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An Astoria Gem”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We arrived just in time for happy hour and enjoyed a glass of wine, some crackers, cheese, and fresh fruit in the lobby/lounge area downstairs. The view of the Columbia River and ship traffic is beyond amazing. Hotel staff are available, ready and helpful without being intrusive. I stayed in a queen room and was very impressed. There was a stand up shower in the bathroom and a very nice soaking tub which afforded a lovely view of the river. A gas fireplace added a romantic touch and provided more than enough heat to make the room cozy. The drapes could have been pulled across the large windows but I did not think it was necessary to block the view and it was so nice to lay in bed and watch the lights on the Megler Bridge, buoys, and ships as they passed silently by. The boats looked close enough to touch, it was amazing. There is a nice restaurant within walking distance and the Riverwalk Trail is paved and within easy reach. You can use bikes provided by the hotel or simply walk. The trail goes for miles and runs right along the river and into the heart of downtown Astoria. You can catch the trolley right on the riverwalk too if walking or biking isn't your thing. I decided to take advantage of the CPH classic car and driver and we went to the Urban Cafe in downtown Astoria for dinner. Try the chowder at the Urban, it's delicious! The experience overall was wonderful and I highly recommend this hotel for couples or families or a treat for just yourself.

Room Tip: Get a corner unit - views are amazing! If you want the sunset, get the west side and if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BassMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    160
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
184
753
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and have always wanted to try out the Cannery Pier Hotel, we talk about very time we go to Longbeach. We love this hotel and Astoria has so much history. Our room had an amazing view from our balcony, over looking the Columbia river and the Astoria bridge. From 5 to 6 they have a wine reception with local smoked salmon, cheese and crackers and a free breakfast each morning. We drove up to the Astoria colum, what a great view, then checked the Fort George and Rouge breweries in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We wandered into this hotel last year while visiting Astoria and came away thinking "we HAVE to stay here!". This year, for a celebration getaway, I remembered this gem of a hotel...and called for a reservation and spoke with a very helpful staff member, Sally. She helped us secure just the right room, and surprised us with champagne and a sweet note about our anniversary, The room was lovely; we opted to stay on the first floor in order to get a great view of the ships passing by in the Columbia River channel. The room had a gas fireplace, seating near the window to enjoy the Columbia River view, claw foot tub, terry bathrobes. The 5 pm wine reception was tasty; it was fun to visit with the other guests and compare notes on our travel. I would very much enjoy being able to return with our friends...to explore more of Astoria and to relax at this sweet hotel.

Room Tip: First floor gives you a great, eye level river view. puts you near the hot tub too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patgrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel was a true highlight of our trip to the Pacific Northwest. The location on the Columbia River was fantastic and provided a whole new experience. We watched big ships from all over the world sail past our room. The hotel design took full advantage of this spectacular setting. Windows everywhere, all with a view.

Room Tip: Every room has a view...you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photobug4727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The view of the Columbia River and the bridge from the rooms is spectacular. Leave the drapes open at nighttime. The room is large and very tastefully decorated - very nice. The bathroom is also great. Easy walking on the trolley path to restaurants in town. The breakfast was excellent and the early evening cheese, salmon and wine reception was first rate. The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. This is a "not to miss" place if staying anywhere in the area - does not disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here for just one night in late May while traveling from Portland into the Olympic Peninsula. This hotel does everything well. It is exactly the right sort of hotel for its price with amenities that met our every expectation.

We knew this was going to be a good place for us since my husband is a nut for things like working rivers. Actually, that's why I booked it in the first place-- I knew he'd get a kick out of being so close to the working water front. The trade off for me, of course, was having a beautiful bath tub to soak in while he watched for boats and ships.

The room is large, with a full bathroom. The large soaking tub is positioned so that you can soak and open the shutters to the rest of the room, or close them for more privacy. There is also a walk in shower, and a separately enclosed toilet. I appreciated the vanity space as well.
Beyond the bed there was a fireplace and then a window seat beside the door leading to the small deck. Binoculars were provided. There was also a small sofa and table with chairs. I was very impressed by the room size. It set a high standard for the remainder of our trip!

The shared spaces are lovely and cozy. We enjoyed use of the whirlpool and Swedish Sauna. The scheduled car service into town is a great amenity. Our driver, Sam, was great to chat with. He dropped us off at Fort George Brewery and instructed us to tell our server there when we were finished so that she could call the Hotel. Seriously, this was awesome service.

Finally-- the continental breakfast is the best that I've had at a hotel for a few simple reasons: 1) they stock foods that we actually ordinarily eat for breakfast like greek yogurt, healthy granola and soymilk. We were able to kickoff a busy day with an awesome, nutritious breakfast -- a serious benefit when on the road. They also have treats like donuts and waffles. They provide quality organic teas by Numi.

Kudos to Cannery Pier. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for only one night but would definitely return. Nice large rooms, spacious bathrooms and what a view! The shipping certainly provides an interesting and beguiling backdrop and the daily sailings flyer is a nice touch. The classic car into town is fun as well as a practical way to overcome the slightly out of the way location. The breakfast buffet and evening wine reception are nice touches as are the laundry facilities. And as for a hotel that puts a microwave in the room and sells popcorn for a dollar from the vending machines, brilliant!

Outside the Cannery Pier Astoria has some great seafood and microbreweries and we all wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing