We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience I've Ever Had!”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 April 2008

All the other positive reviews say it perfectly. There's just not a thing about this place that isn't delightful.

Very crisp and well appointed, excellent service, gorgeous rooms and views.

I just loved the pink bike they gave me to ride around the boardwalk. It had a bell and I will always remember that sound with the time my husband and I were first dating and having such a wonderful romantic time at the Cannery Pier.

If you love a good bath, they have a great layout, with the tub opening up to the room with shutters.

I take classes from professors at Cornell's world famous school of hotel management and we've studied a lot of boutique hotels that don't seem to hold a candle to this place, truly. And I'm a pretty tough customer! LOL

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SpaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2008

While a person can find something negative about any hotel they stay at, we aren't the type to "nitpick" or say negative things unless they really affect our stay or if the hotel isn't worth the room charge.

We found this hotel was just fabulous in just about every way.

Easy to find, pleasing to the eye and very relaxing. We almost didn't want to leave our room except that the second floor public areas are where the television with a VCR is at, board games for guests to use, cozy seating areas to read and a computer and printer for guests to use. Plus they have a great early evening "happy hour" in the lobby with wine, smoked salmon, cheeses and crackers.

The free breakfast in the morning was what you would expect from a hotel except it was all FRESH with pastries, fruit salad, waffles, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, juices and coffee. All very fresh and kept stocked up. Very nice!

Fresh cookies in the evening! This could have been a negative for us but they keep the cookies on the counter at the registration desk so you have a witness to how many you take. That kept us from really pigging out on them. Hmmmm... maybe they should move the cookies over to the coffee pot area.

While the dining room is small, you can sit anywhere in the lobby to eat, or take it back to your room. We liked eating in the lobby and meeting & talking with other guests. And one time we also felt like loading up our plates and going back to the cozy comfort of our room & watched a movie on TV while we ate.

One night while we were down in the lobby relaxing in front of one of the two fireplaces they have, we overheard some guests asking for a 3:30am wakeup call. (3:30am???) Turns out they were going out on a fishing charter. The front desk offered to have a basket of breakfast items, juice and coffee ready for them to take with them fishing. Wow!

The free limousine was used by many guests to transport them to restaurants and such. A very nice touch for any hotel, but not one that many offer. The limo driver was excellent and very personable.

Rooms are fabulous and very nicely decorated. Large by any standard. All equipped with a fireplace that actually is the only heat for the room. Wasn't too sure about this, but it was quite pleasant and certainly did put out the heat. Nice "mini" kitchen counter/cabinet with a sink, coffeepot and coffee making supplies. Hidden down below is a microwave and refrigerator.

Wonderful breezes from the river if you decide to open the windows or door to the small balcony.

The bathroom was spacious and had a nice makeup area with a bench. The shower was good and the soaking tub was quite large (and long). Thanks to a shuttered opening next to the tub, one could relax in the tub and still have a nice view of the water.

The lobby is very nicely arranged with comfy furniture and actually quite cozy despite the high ceilings and wall-to-wall windows. We loved sitting in the lobby in front of the windows and just vegging out and watching the large ships go by on the river.

We arrived in Astoria extremely early (4 hours) before check-in and they went out of their way to make us comfortable in the lobby with drinks and snacks. They had a room ready for us within 15 minutes of our arrival. How many other hotels have done that for you?

The folks that we met who work at the front desk (Jeff, Lori, Allison) were so gracious and nice to everyone. They went out of their way to greet and make sure you had everything you could think of. Excellent with restaurant referrals and restaurant menus.

One of our favorite restaurants was an Italian restaurant named "Fulios". Known for their slow table service.... the food was excellent and worth the wait. Besides, we weren't in a hurry and it was nice not to be rushed out so they could book the table again. Try their signature salad of a grilled wedge of romaine lettuce with the house Ceasar dressing.

There isn't a porter to help with luggage but they do have luggage trolleys that you can take out to your car and get your luggage. That was just fine with us.

Some of the rooms had trouble getting a strong enough wi-fi signal but there was the computer on the second floor to use. The hotel was expecting some new equipment to arrive in a few days that would boost the signal so all the rooms would have strong access to the free wi-fi.

We found the hotel's "March Madness" promotion listed on their website before we booked the room and that gave us 1/2 off the second night price.

All in all..... we can't recommend this hotel enough. Perfect for couples needing a quiet get-away, or the chance to "re-connect" in this fast and crazy world we all live in. Unfortunately I was there with my daughter...*LOL

Kudos to the Cannery Pier Hotel and thank you for a very lovely stay. I do want to come back and bring the husband!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank catadams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This is great hotel! It is not a true luxury hotel but is very clean, comfortable and has many nice touches. It is situated over the Columbia River which provides a lovely spot to watch passing ships, sea birds and sea lions. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed at a suite with our 2 young boys. The suites are located on the East end of the hotel and are comfortable for families, with a seperate King sleeping room & a pullout couch in front of the gas fireplace.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

This is an awesome newish hotel (2.5 years). We knew it was going to be a great stay from the moment we walked through the door. There was a buzz about the place and before we had even signed in we were given a complimentary glass of wine!

Service is number one here - nothing is too much trouble. If you have a concern, or a question it is dealt with immediately. Nothing is too much trouble and unlike other hotels they don't nickel and dime you to death. Internet is free, bottled water is free (as much as you like!); there is a wine reception every afternoon - it just goes on.

My favorite was being taken to dinner by a white gloved chauffeur in a 1939 Buick - that was just great.

The rooms are amazing as you can sit in the window seat and watch cargo ships sail pass so close it's not true! Heck, you can even sit in your six foot claw foot tub and watch them go by.

Can't remember the big bald guy's name who drove us in the Buick and was there when we arrived but he was a wonderful host and certainly made our stay special.

I really can't fault this place and will certainly be going back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mikey3552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

Spent one night there in mid-March. The hotel is like a modern lodge and and has a nice lobby area with a fireplace and glass walls to look out at the river.

My room on the fourth floor was huge, including a couch, balcony, a nice area to sit by the window/balcony and use the complementary binoculars, and a large bathroom. Part of the bathroom opens up into rest of the room facing the window (I think there was a curtain you could close for privacy), so you could look out toward the river and Washington while showering.

Went to the Bridgewater Bistro for dinner and had a good meal and drinks. It is right at the other end of the parking lot, so it is quite convenient. If you want to venture further away, the hotel had a 1939 Buick that can take you anywhere, free of charge.

It looked as though they were still doing a little cleanup from the winter storm, but we never heard any noise associated with it. If I am ever in Astoria again I would definitely return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbbjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Cannery Pier Hotel for our honeymoon. We rented one of the suites, which while more expensive, was well worth the money. From the moment we walked in, the staff was friendly, professional, and made us feel like a welcome houseguest, instead of just a room number.

The property itself is simply beautiful. When we arrived, we were amazed by how this hotel stood out from its surroundings. The lobby has several couches and chairs that are just perfect for lounging during their afternoon wine reception or the continental breakfast. Or if you just want to watch the river traffic on the Columbia, or read a book.

The rooms themselves are quiet, relaxing, and perfect for someone who wants to get away from the world for a little while. The jetted tub looks out over the Columbia River as well, with blinds that can be closed for privacy.

The hotel boasts a true spa with a licensed Massage Therapist. While we were there, my wife and I got a couple's massage. The therapists there are truly skilled professionals, and as a bonus gave my wife and I a small present when they learned we were there on our honeymoon.

The staff really is professional, courteous, and genuinely care about you as an individual. When my wife wasn't feeling well one night, the staff made sure that we had everything we needed, and the morning staff asked how she was feeling the next day.

Overall, I think that this is probably the best hotel I have ever visited. Professional, courteous, caring staff, combined with a beautiful facility, and a great location. Simply phenomenal.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmbulanceDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

The CPH is a fantastic hotel. The property is beautiful as it sits out in the Columbia River right next to the main shipping channel. The views from the room are great! Each room with a huge window overlooking the river and a fireplace that makes the whole experience great.

The staff is very professional and always there to answer any questions. We was very pleased with our stay. We were offered a glass of wine at check in and they made sure that everything was perfect. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,047 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: £151 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing