We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel on the water”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel on the water”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for two night in June 2013. All of the rooms face the river and I believe all of them offer a balcony. There is no A/C in the room so I don't think I would want to stay there when it is really warm. There is a fan under the window seat that pulls in air from outside, but we still propped open the balcony door with a chair to get more air.

There isn't much privacy. When sitting on the couch, your neighbors can see you and vice versa. Also the walls were kinda thin so we could hear the people beside us and every foot step from the people above us. The bathroom is huge and has a clawfoot tub. They also provide binoculars for viewing the passing boats. I thought the boats would be loud, but you don't even hear them go by.

Although we missed it both nights, they offer wine and cheese in the early evening hours. On the first night, we walked to dinner at the Bridgewater Bistro. Parking was difficult during the day so on the second night, we took the complimentary ride in the classic Chevy to dinner. It turns out on the week nights, it is a ghost town and there was ample parking available. It was worth a splurge, but if you are on a budget it was expensive considering there is a fairly new Holiday Inn Express next door that offers the same view, just without a balcony.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    163
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
197
784
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on our trip along the Oregon coast. New and beautifully furnished lobby and rooms. Great happy hour with wine and snacks, and even better breakfast the next morning. A highlight was an evening talk by the owner/architecht about how he built the hotel and what was there in Astoria beforehand.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel....all face the Columbia River and bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zed3NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Cannery Pier is without a doubt one of our favorite hotels on the Oregon coast. We are never, ever disappointed with our experience here. The wine and cheese happy hour is terrific and we meet the most interesting people. The staff is always attentive and accommodating. The smoked salmon sandwiches are to die for - absolutely delicious! The Washington red wine that is served is excellent. I believe it was Tuesday evening that they had two musicians there (one playing a mandolin and the other a guitar) and we could just not get enough of their music - they were that good. I made sure to provide a healthy gratuity. What the heck, life is too short anyways. My wife and I like to stay on the second floor now because we can avoid the elevator - just a short walk up the stairs from the main lobby. If you are so inclined, book the 1958 turquoise Chev Biscayne for your evening out at one of the restaurants in town. I would recommend Clements or Drina Daisy. The other thing that we like about the Cannery Pier is that we are a short drive away from Warrenton and excellent shopping at Costco, Ross, and Fred Meyer. Also, it's a short drive to Seaside and a good selection of factory outlet stores. We plan to keep going back to this excellent hotel at least twice a year.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Columbia River but we like double queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

First the positive - We love all the amenities offered such as the gathering for wine tasting in the lobby, the fine complimentary breakfast, the mineral water hot tub, excellent spa offerings, free chauffeured transportation to local eateries, and superb front desk service. However, the décor is showing signs of wear and tear, such as carpets in the rooms and hallways, cloudy shower doors, sagging roman blinds that won't stay up, laminate floors issues. Small deteriorations, but for the price, one would expect a bit more. We will definitely come back, but hope the management will address the small issues before they become overwhelming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We spent two nights, and wished we could have stayed much longer. The staff is top-notch, professional and friendly. The views from the common areas were fantastic. In our room there was a window seat where you could snuggle up with a good book and gaze at the boats going up the Columbia River. They had a pair of binoculars in the window to make this even more interesting. Each night there was a complimentary happy hour with salmon, wine and cheese. The continental breakfasts were sufficient and healthy. This is one of may all-time favorite hotel experiences. If you're in Oregon, don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Last summer we discovered the charms of Astoria and have been longing to return and explore it some more. So a surprise trip for my wife to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary.

On arrival the front desk staff person accommodated us with an upgrade to a room with king-size bed, which was not available at time of booking. We entered the room to find spacious accommodations with a large bath that included granite finishes, a separate claw tub and shower stall. The bathroom alone was practically the size of some hotel rooms. The room was furnished in a modern, tastefully decorated style. The room, and apparently, all others, have small balconies that over look the Columbia River Estuary. Looking west, you can see out to Ilwaco, WA and the Columbia River bar. To the east, the views take in tall mountains that define a broad channel marking the Columbia's relentless and nearly complete plunge into the Pacific ocean.

The hotel is built on piers over the river--the view out of the rooms is like that of suite on cruise ship. Large freighters occasionally pass by adding a dramatic, dynamic dimension to the view.

The Cannery Pier Hotel offers a number of amenities. The WiFi was free with good connectivity. Not even a password was needed to connect. Unlike another reviewer's experience, the connection was good enough to stream movies on our iPad. There are also a great number of satellite or cable channels offered for free on the hotel's system.

In the early evening the hotel offered a complimentary wine tasting, which consisted of full-glass pourings, cheese, and bread with smoked salmon. Cookies were served in the evening. A complimentary breakfast, which we did not try, was also included.

The hotel offers a shuttle service to town. The hotel has a small fleet of vintage automobiles for this. It also offers complimentary bicycles for guests to use. The hotel is located right off the Astoria River Walk. Excellent, flawless experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Staff are as friendly and helpful as any property of higher status. Very welcoming and accommodating. The appetizer hour is a nice touch, with an attractive variety of offerings. Cookies and milk at eight are scrumptious! The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. A/C would be a nice thing to have, although it was not warm enough that a fan wouldn't suffice during our stay. WiFi not available outside of the lobby and we were unable to connect in the lobby.

Bicycles are available for nice rides up and down the multi-mile path along the river, and the classic car rides to and from restaurants are a very unique benefit. Breakfast is typical, but we felt that the fresh fruit was above par.

Our only issue is with the price. At $269/night, we felt it was overpriced, especially if compared to other offerings within a stone's throw. The uniqueness of the location made us ignore the extra expense, at least for the first night, but we nearly moved to the adjacent Holiday Inn Express for a savings of over $175/night thereafter.

Skip the Bridgewater Bistro that is right there next to the CPH in the red building. The food is only average and is way overpriced.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pingfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,780 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing