We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool river views from a fun boutique hotel”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the Cannery Pier Hotel June 26 - 28 during our PNW vacation. We found this hotel to be delightful and fun. Following is our balanced review of our stay:

- Check-in: We arrived before check-in time and had to wait about 10 minutes for our room. Not a big deal at all. We were originally offered a ground floor room (immediately available) but decided to wait for a higher level room so that we could get a nice view of the river. We were given a 4th floor room which had an amazing view of the bridge and the river (all rooms have a good view...it was nice being higher up - personal preference).
- Room: The room is very spacious! The bathroom is palatial. It has a wrap around counter, a claw tub, separate shower stall, and separate room for the toilet. There is a window on the wall by the tub to the bedroom so that you can soak in the tub and enjoy the view of the river. There are shutters on the window if you want privacy. The king sized bed is very comfortable and there is a couch, coffee table, fireplace, table with chairs for two, a patio, and a window seat. There is free wifi in each room as well. There is also a coffee maker, refrigerator, and another sink in the bedroom. I have two negatives about the room: the carpeting is stained and worn in several places and there is no air conditioning in the rooms so it got a bit warm at times. There is a fan to bring in cool air from the river built into the window seat. The room was very clean but could use an update with the carpeting.
- Location: The hotel is in a fabulous location! You have free parking at the hotel, which is also on the pier. The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk into town along the waterfront trail. This train is directly in front of the hotel and a lovely and safe walk during the day and night. There is also a trolly car that runs this route until 7 pm at night for those that don't want to walk. The hotel also offers free bikes and antique car service into town. We didn't take advantage of either of these but many people did.
- Breakfast: The hotel offers complimentary breakfast until 10 am. The food was lovely - local pasteries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, juices, and coffees. There is also a wine happy hour that we never made it back in time to enjoy.

This hotel is a gem. We got to enjoy an amazing sunset, wake up to dense fog on the river, and watch the many ships come in and leave the port (the hotel provides a schedule of ships!). You can hear them coming and going at night...but it didn't bother me at all. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this place as a good base to explore the northern OR coast (Seaside, Cannon Beach, Tillamook).

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

The rooms are spacious, quiet, well out-fitted, and all brilliantly situated for optimal viewing of ships, bridge, and the ever changing waters. The Holiday Inn is cheaper, because it is cheaper. If you just want a roof with a view do it. You get to view the Cannery hotel, and are packed in with far too many visitors.

The Cannery, however has a very kind, attentive, if loopy, somewhat forgetful staff. Don't expect one's policy to be another's. They make up for it though.

Pay attention to maximize your experience. There is constant free tea, coffee etc. Lovely complimentary breakfast with local pastries, waffle maker, Greek yogurt, etc. From 5pm, the endless free smoked salmon fingers and cheeses are worth their weight in gold. Know that in reality the free wine costs below $10/bottle, but is local, respectably drinkable, and also bottomless if you ask. We skipped dinner after so much food, great views, and sociable lounge. At night, free cookies appear at the front desk. Book your free classic car chauffeur early, but do it at least once. Free bikes are there if the weather holds. The free gym is decent, the mineral jet pool and sauna room are both lovely.

Nearby, Bridgewater Bistro is worth paying a bit more for if you are in the mood for real food, perfectly cooked fish, great views, and staff.

Stay at the Cannery at least once. It is a step above.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for the 4th floor. If you have pets or kids the lower rooms are great. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROMAURBIS753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Cannery Pier Hotel pleased my husband and I during our two-night stay. We wanted a quick getaway from Portland but were not interested in anything stressful. To maximize your stay, enjoy watching the sunset in your room each night.

Personal highlights:
*The house ground tap coffee was strong enough for my espresso addicted husband to not demand a mid-day coffee fix.
*Late at night they have cookies at the front desk!!!
*They have The Goonies on DVD at the front desk.
*For breakfast, the pastries come from one of the local bakeries in town.
*I enjoyed having a suite because there are beautiful views from the bedroom, bathroom, and living room. One can even use the sauna tub with the windows opened without being seen.
*If you need wine glasses, they are available at the front desk!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night at the beginning of an Oregon Coast road trip and enjoyed our stay very much. Great views along the river -- lots of birds and interesting shipping traffic. Quiet, too. We enjoyed the 5p happy hour with wine and cheese and also made use of the hotel's cruiser bikes the next morning -- took a long ride along the paved river path. I highly recommend it! The breakfast was the usual fare: coffee, danishes, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. Our room was very clean and comfortable -- excellent view of the river and bridge. The hotel provides a set of binoculars in the rooms, too! We had tickets to a concert that was part of the Astoria Music Festival -- another series of events not to miss.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NWDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The room was beautiful,but the balcony was tiny. Staff was especially attentive. They gave me a bowl of blueberries when I told them that I couldn't eat the melon in the breakfast fruit salad. The happy was good as was aside to and from a restaurant in a vintage car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbass60668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for two night in June 2013. All of the rooms face the river and I believe all of them offer a balcony. There is no A/C in the room so I don't think I would want to stay there when it is really warm. There is a fan under the window seat that pulls in air from outside, but we still propped open the balcony door with a chair to get more air.

There isn't much privacy. When sitting on the couch, your neighbors can see you and vice versa. Also the walls were kinda thin so we could hear the people beside us and every foot step from the people above us. The bathroom is huge and has a clawfoot tub. They also provide binoculars for viewing the passing boats. I thought the boats would be loud, but you don't even hear them go by.

Although we missed it both nights, they offer wine and cheese in the early evening hours. On the first night, we walked to dinner at the Bridgewater Bistro. Parking was difficult during the day so on the second night, we took the complimentary ride in the classic Chevy to dinner. It turns out on the week nights, it is a ghost town and there was ample parking available. It was worth a splurge, but if you are on a budget it was expensive considering there is a fairly new Holiday Inn Express next door that offers the same view, just without a balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on our trip along the Oregon coast. New and beautifully furnished lobby and rooms. Great happy hour with wine and snacks, and even better breakfast the next morning. A highlight was an evening talk by the owner/architecht about how he built the hotel and what was there in Astoria beforehand.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel....all face the Columbia River and bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zed3NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: £136 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing