We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stopped one night on our way from Seattle to Lake Tahoe. A beautiful hotel right on the water next to the Astoria Bridge. Wonderful views, comfortable rooms. Wine in the evenings and breakfast in the AM. No on-site restaurant, but several places nearby and the hotel provides transportation with two antique cars. Our driver also gave us a short tour of the town on our way to eat.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms look out over the Colombia River and have views of the Astoria Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwb513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    163
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
197
785
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed there for a conference for two days. The service was great and the food brought in was wonderful. Restaurants around the area are very good. We enjoyed watching the harbor activity---both the shops and the sea life. Always something to observe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve98391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn, Hampton Inn and now Cannery Hotel in Astoria. All are lovely but for special occasions, this was awesome. It's RIGHT on top of the water. Seagulls will entertain you as they sore on the gusts right outside your window. The views are amazing, staff awesome and amenities great too. They have a wine reception in the evening and free bikes to take out on the river walk. Medium sized breakfast in the AM and gorgeous hot tub and spa. My onlys complaints were the pillows. Truly horrible, feather pillows with no shape left in them. And the fact that there is no AC. Overall, beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackandlucylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked this hotel for two nights for my husband's birthday. The stay was a positive one. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The view from our windows was something to experience. The front desk staff and food and beverage staff couldn't have been more are awesome. The vintage cars and Dick got us to where we had to go and back quickly. He knows a lot about Astoria. We went for a bike ride, crossed the bridge, toured Shallons winery and could have spent a couple more days, The only downfall was the noise from the suite above. (Was taken care of by front desk staff) Next time we will ask for a room on the top floor. Thank you to all that made this birthday trip successful. We will return.

Room Tip: The floor in our sitting area was hardwood so we assume they all are. If you are early to bed type p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRZ110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our family of 6 has stayed here 4 times now. It is our absolute favorite getaway. The hotel is magical. Watch ships go by all day right out your window. Heat your room by fireplace. Has a great breakfast and happy hour. If your staying in Astoria you have to stay here. You will not be let down.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaymarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

There is a reason it's called the pilot house. Every room has a killer view..
Best views ever, west (the mouth of the Columbia), north (Washington State), east (Astoria Bridge).
Fireplace, views, kitchen, double bedrooms/bathrooms.
This is perfect for 2 couples.

The hotel unexpectedly threw in some nice extras (beers, soda, wine) in the kitchenette.
Bikes available in the lobby.
Lobby is comprised of several different sitting areas, fireplaces, all with excellent views.
Located next to a major pier where fishing boats launch.
Limo service around town in vintage cars is included.

Had a memorable time (caught our limit of salmon out in the Pacific). Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pilot house is perfect for two couples and a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time! The room was top notch and the service was outstanding as well. The staff has several old classic cars they will take you out to dinner and show you around the town of Astoria. We were not able to use their full service spa as we were a last minute arrival but we definitely will at some point. This is the perfect hotel for a romantic weekend getaway. Its certainly the nicest hotel for many miles.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing