We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Astoria.”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,690 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 718 helpful votes
“Excellence in Astoria.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Phenomenal view, unexcelled location. Each room has views some bit better especially on higher level floors.
Friday night receptions with wine, salmon cheese appetizers.
Beautiful outdoor seating during balmy July nights.
Recommend? Yes
Return? Yes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    162
    31
    14
    3
See reviews for
189
768
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights while we visited friends who live in Seaside. All of the rooms have a spectacular view. They are well appointed with good beds, pillows and really nice linens. The bathroom is beautiful although I don't particularly care for the windows from over the tub looking into the bedroom. But perhaps I am too old to appreciate this particular feature! Breakfast was very generous and much more than I expected given the description of "continental." Freshly baked cookies in the lobby every night were another treat! I did find it a bit odd that the hotel doesn't offer a turn down service. It would also have been helpful to have either written or verbal instructions for operating fireplace and other electrical aspects of the room. It was actually quite warm while we were there and we would have been much more comfortable sleeping at night had we realized there was a fan to pull cooler outside air in under the window seat. But this is minor overall the hotel is lovely and well worth the extra price!

Room Tip: all rooms face the water so you can't miss!
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel seems to emphasize environmentally friendly practices and this is much appreciated
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinggal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We were only able to stay for two nights because of the huge price tag. $278 per night may not be much to some people but it is exorbitant to us. It is a BEAUTIFUL hotel with beautiful views because of its position on top of the water. We loved the large claw foot tub, bikes to ride and close proximity to great restaurants. I wish the rooms had balconies with room to sit in chairs and watch the ships go by. There is a small square area just big enough to stand on. I would reccomend it for a treat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicesmilekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My Husband and I stayed one day at this hotel and we wished we could have stayed more. The hotel is beautiful and is right on the river. When we checked in we were told that we were just in time for complimentary wine. I have never gotten that at a hotel. The room was beautiful and looked out on to the river. At check in they gave us a list of ships that would be going by for that day. There was also a pair of binoculars so you could look at the ships. Though I enjoyed watching the Eagles and Harbor seals with them. The front desk had menus of quite a few restaurants in town. They made the reservations for us and then asked if we wanted them to drive us to the restaurant in one of their classic cars. For no additional cost! Of course we said yes. The hotel really thinks of everything. They have bikes you can borrow, books on the area, breakfast and Espresso in the morning. I would go back in a heart beat. This place may be a bit spendy but well worth it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first level, That had better view of the boats and wildlife on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZincPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels in the Astoria area. We stayed here for several days in July. The Columbia river view was exceptional--watching the huge ships travel their way to Portland just outside our room was incredible. During this trip we even took our small dog which they do their best to accommodate. He loved it.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room on the top floor. We were on the bottom floor--1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very nice, newer hotel on a pier over the Colombia River. Great views. Service was excellent, staff friendly. The wine and cheese in the lobby in the late afternoon was a nice touch. They have bicycles you can borrow for free, and we enjoyed riding down to the town's fabulous maritime museum. It is a quiet place. Fascinating to watch the freighters going by. It's rather expensive, though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had an amazing time at the CPH! It is worth every penny to splurge on a view suite. This hotel is very family friendly (the only slight drawback was a lack of high chairs in the dining area- we have a one year old). The cookie hour was a HUGE hit with our 4 year old. Every person we encountered--even other guests!-- showered our kids with smiles and compliments. We loved watching the container ships pass by, and we actually saw a bald eagle soar directly in front of our window. It was a hotel stay that we will never forget! Thank you, CPH staff!

Room Tip: Any view room is good, but we had a corner room which was super excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing