We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay on the mouth of the Columbia River”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Hotel is a wonderful and Special Boutique hotel. You sleep over the Columbia River. The view is awesome. Very Special. Close to the Harbor. You get free wine in the afternoon. The view is super. Nice breakfast. The rooms Are Big and bright. Wonderful. The hotel öfters a Free Car ride (vinteage Car) to a restaurant of yoir Choice.

Room Tip: All rooms have river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Armin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place was perfect. When you open the door is a nice surprise.
You look through a beautifully decorated room to the busy Columbia river. The bathroom just to the left when you enter is huge in hotel standards, the claw foot tub is a nice surprise, along with the walk in shower and large vanity completes a great bathroom. The rest of the room was equally as nice. A comfortable king bed with a sofa facing a gas fire place. We didn't need it while we were there, but it was fun to think about a cold night huddled by the fireplace watching the boats float down the river. We were surprised by activity on the river, you get everything from cargo tankers to fishing boats going by. The second morning we were there we were awakened by the fog horn of a cargo ship. Let me assure you it will get your attention. All rooms have a small balcony, ours had enough room to get a couple chairs on, makes for a nice place to watch the river traffic. We also enjoyed the hot tub and sauna one evening, we had it all to ourselves. Breakfast and an evening wine social is provided in the lobby. It's nice place to enjoy the river and get acquainted with the other guests. The hotel also provides bikes for guest use and antique cars to shuttle guests to their dinner destinations. Although we didn't use the cars they were fun to look at and we knew they were there if we had wanted to use them. In my reviews I usually try and point out the flaws of a place,, but honestly I couldn't come up with any. We look forward to our next trip to Astoria and I can't imagine staying any other place. Kudos to the manager and all the staff at the Cannery Pier Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310, although not one of the suite rooms,, has just enough room on the balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tripletex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Loved this hotel, total relaxation. Really enjoyed wine and cheese by the fire from 5pm. Then getting driven in the classic car to dinner and coming back fresh baked cookies. It the little things that count and they do it so well...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with my oldest son. Quite expencive, but worth the money. Good rooms, and what a view! It was so beautiful to watch the river and the bridge from Oregon to Washington. In the evening we was served a glass of wine and some cakes. Charming! The breakfast was good enough and included in the room prize. The hotel offers driver in the evenings. Remember to book this car early if you know you want to go out for a dinner. This hotel do not have a restaurant, but there is a good place to eat right "next door" in walking distance.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Bankfruen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently and everything exceeded out expectations. The hotel has amazing water views from every room. We were able to see big ships passing under the Megler Bridge and sea lions jumping and playing in the water every morning. Our view was completely unobstructed. The ship horns were loud, but we didn't mind. The city of Astoria itself is really charming, with lots of great restaurants and quirky attractions. Bridgewater Bistro is within walking distance of the hotel and had great food and a nice ambiance. We will definitely visit this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This small hotel is very nice and the staff amazing. We were on a 2 week vacation and this was a stop along the route. What a pleasant surprise for such a remote location. It was a beautiful place. One downside no AC and it was warm. Aside from that they upgraded us to a suite the second night and had extras sent to our room because our trip was a bit of a nightmare. I would definitely recommend this hotel, but during the cooler months to take advantage of the fireplace Loved the antique cars and the gal driving was fabulous. Thanks for a good time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two days here on the foggy Oregon coast and I can't imagine a better place to be. There are beautiful public spaces, nicely laid out rooms with fireplaces and small balconies, delicious breakfasts and happy hour all on a bustling riverfront

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range: £132 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing