We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”
Review of Cannery Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cannery Pier Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Battle Ground,WA
1 review
“Luxurious”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Cannery Pier Hotel for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. I am so glad we chose this hotel!

The front desk staff was able to check us in 5 hours early. Every staff member we saw/spoke to was very pleasant.

The room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. The beds are There is an amazing river view from each room.

We will return to this hotel for all future stays.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    162
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
193
778
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Classy, stylish, modern hotel perched way out over the river. Very nice rooms with many luxury touches and great views. Complementary continental breakfast, evening wine and cheese, and limo service in antique cars to local restaurants. A few details don't quite work right (e.g., the "Rain" shower was throttled down to more like a light drizzle - not very satisfactory). But overall, an interesting, pleasant, and unusual stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The last time we were in Astoria, this hotel didn't exist. Friends recommended it to us and we were so happy they did. This is a lovely and unique hotel. It's right on the pier so our room faced the river and the bridge, with a nice balcony to enjoy the view. The room was very nice and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the gas fireplace was a nice touch. The ladies at the front desk were all very nice, polite and helpful.

One of the best parts was Spencer and the three antique cars available at no charge to take you to dinner and pick you up (but be sure to tip Spencer well!) Our's was a 1938 Bentley and it was gorgeous. And Spencer was delightful.

Restaurants we recommend: The Baked Alaska (in town) and The Bridgewater Bistro (on the pier by the hotel). We had very good meals and service at both. An interesting place to check out is the Maritime Museum. And be sure to take a drive down to Cannon Beach!

My only suggestion (and I mentioned this to the front desk) is that they need to replace the halogen bedside reading lamps with lamps that have regular bulbs. They were handy and nice and bright, but they were so hot, I had to turn mine off and couldn't read in bed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WED439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

First...I left my jacket in the room closet. I called a day later and asked that they add the postal charges to my card but they mailed it FREE OF CHARGE. It arrived at my home before I did! That experience highlights how great the staff and hotel is overall.
We had a wonderful time - the staff was efficient, professional and friendly. The room was very comfortable with a waterfront view of river traffic that included huge tankers(which slip through the water silently!) down to small fishing boats. We had excellent wi-fi reception and enjoyed the laid-back wine and cheese hour. The continental breakfast was very good. The ultra-soft pillows were the only drawback and I believe had we asked we would have been given ones that suited us better. We have stayed in Astoria before but never at the Cannery Pier Hotel. We will definitely stay here again and have told our story to many since we have returned home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Small, thoughtful touches all through the hotel made our stay there delightful. For example, we checked in after the wine and cheese reception ended, but the staff offered us wine anyway as we checked in. The rooms had binoculars so that we could look at the passing freighters and fishing boats close-up. The lighting in the room was wonderful and attractive, beds were comfortable, and the fireplaces in each room made even a rainy day comfortable and cozy. The staff was helpful without being intrusive. Many open windows and comfortable seats in the lobby showed this hotel to be someone's labor of love.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

very well appointed, every room a great view. so spacious...nice little extras, like wine/cheese/smoked salmon (even fresh caught halibut was served when we were there) around 5, cookies in the evening, great little breakfast...service is laid back and friendly (you can stay and socialize during the aforementioned food offerings, but they're great about giving you a tray to bring everything up to your room...service is not fawning, but it's professional and efficient (typical PNW)...bed was comfortable with decent sheets. ..as I said before, the room is well appointed; it's not "grand" in regards to materials (i.e. the counters in the bathroom are faux granite, the claw foot tub is fiberglass, and the shower is faux tile, BUT it's well done and charming just the same...nice spa with small hot tub and sauna....my husband and I got two of the best massages either of us have ever had and we've had lots...jasmine and michelle may be reason alone why we come back to the cph...bistro in the red building in front of cph was great too, tony (owner) was super friendly and helped us pick out a great wine

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Clean, awesome staff, hot tub in room with view of Columbia River, another hot tub with view of river, wine and cheese, great restaurant within walking distance, private balcony over river

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CateT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astoria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
22.4 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,539 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#7 of 14 in Astoria
685 reviews
22.3 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Pier Hotel

Property: Cannery Pier Hotel
Address: 10 Basin St, Astoria, OR 97103-6221
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Astoria
#1 Green Hotel in Astoria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Astoria
#3 Business Hotel in Astoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cannery Pier Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cannery Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Pier Astoria
Hotel Cannery Pier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing