We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”

T Paul's Urban Cafe
Ranked #9 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a neat place. It had a homey, friendly environment. While we were here, they had a live banjo band. Folks were singing along. We had a BBQ quesadilla and a bay shrimp quesadilla. Both were tasty and reasonably priced. We had the cobbler for dessert but it was 'okay'. I prefer and crunchy crumble topping and this was more cakey. The waitress we had was exceptional. One of the best I have ever had. She was the just right amount of attentive and had the kind of attention to detail you rarely experience from a waitress. For example, she noticed that my drink was low on ice and asked if I would like more. I would definitely be returning here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iamtravelnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    80
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We've never had a bad meal here.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The food is innovative and very tasty, the staff is wonderful and the place itself is pretty durn cute. Eat here. We have never been disappointed, and have eaten here a LOT in the past almost 10 years we've lived in Astoria.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonflymoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowichan Valley, B.C.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lot's of people will love this place”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The menu is reasonably wide-ranging, the preparation is relatively predictable, the portions are huge, the facilities are very clean, the service is small-town familiar, so why only 2 stars? For precisely those reasons. My wife and I had visited this establishment when it went by a different name - quite devoted to fish, slightly up-scale, mature, thoughtful and I've been back twice in recent years with other family members - once, not having noticed the change and once more to give it a "second" chance. There's absolutely nothing wrong with it and I imagine most people will rate it highly for that very reason but so many places in the States have settled for not offending anyone that they aren't really memorable - I find that I want "special" and "imaginative" so this restaurant (and others like it) will get marked down for that. I imagine that "survival" is on the restauranteur's mind - fair enough - but a place like Astoria with the tourism and traffic as it seems, should be able to have more "special" places and not merely that which appeals to the greatest number.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
218 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“a favorite for many years”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Its where we go when we want a nice, affordable lunch, always just a little different. A great place to take visiting friends, with a varied menu.
Unpretentious, personable owners and wait staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“good food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

they have some of the best food around. would go again The chefs know what they are doing and the staff is very friendly and professional

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed T Paul's Urban Cafe also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to T Paul's Urban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing