We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plastic tasting fish” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Ranked #18 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plastic tasting fish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The view is beautiful and the only thing good in this restaurant. I think our fish was frozen for a few years before being served and was bland. Service was prompt and friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank adalaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    86
    46
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brush Prairie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Interesting but dark interior and the food is good but it's way overpriced. We have been a few times and gave up because the fish & chips were too greasy & the service far below minimum. It's noisy and needs some updating from appearance. Frankly, we are surprised it's still in business knowing the competition from all over.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Place needs to have some updates all around”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

thought we would try something new.
This place needs a serious update.
It is dark and gloomy, really outdated. The food kind of tasted all the same ,pretty greasy food. The bus boy was very sweet and attentive but everyone else just didn't seem happy to be there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trinaisfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dated and a little creepy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We should have known when we drove up that this was going to be bad. The place was nearly empty, but we figured that may Thursday nights are slow around town. The place smells musty and old. The staff was friendly, but the poor bus boy was so bored that he just kind of hung out in the shadows and waited for you to finish your meal. The fish and chips were pretty good though. Well, the fish was good, the chips were just whatever bulk frozen stuff they buy. The saving grace for the night was the homemade marionberry pie.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNerdboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rustic charm, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Early Sunday afternoon no waiting. Many window seats with views of the Columbia River. Nice write up on the menu about the origins of this specific restaurant and the tradition of a Ship's Inn throughout England. Wish the write up had been on something that could have been taken with us. Side salad was large enough for two. Clam chowder was excellent as was the crab melt on an English Muffin. Actually had enough left for a light snack later that evening. More than adequate parking. Staff friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minimemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing