We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh yum”
Review of Rio Cafe - CLOSED

Rio Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oh yum”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Service was excellent! The owner was our waitress and she totally took care of our kids. The food was yummy and different, my husband loved his, Not authentic Mexican, no, but it's ASTORIA OREGON, so what do you expect? My shrimp was great. The owner greeted several locals who came in like they were friends and treated us like family, which makes me really happy.
The salsa is great! So fresh.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not impressed, in fact very disappointed”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This place was well reviewed, and quite frankly, it's not very good. It's very run down, and kinda tacky and dirty. They don't give you chips unless you want them in place of one of your meal choices. They weren't impressive, the salsa was ok. I was looking forward to having some pork carnitas, what I got was super,crunchy, over-fried pieces that were like popcorn size doused in a mild chunky red sauce. Beans and rice were very bland and not worth eating. My husband did not anything he got either. This is a place that clearly does not care if you like them or not. It's needs a lot of TLC.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank momstephano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I'm with this guy:

"Little hole in the wall place. Nothing fancy. Had great 70's rock music going. Waitress was excellent. Food was ok. Not what I would call very authentic Mexican. Decent portions and good prices."

Ditto. We probably won't go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kolekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
1 review
“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE OWNER WAS YELLING AT ME”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I ADVISE YOU NOT TO COME TO THIS RESTRAUNT! WORST customer service experience I have ever endured!! When we first got there we order a shrimp cocktail that was okay. My husband order a verde chicken burrito and I order some chicken burrito with only salsa on it. My husband does not like fresh cilantro can only eat it if it’s cooked so he asked for no cilantro. The owner informed that there was cilantro in the sauce but that was fine. Our order came and all he could taste was cilantro so we switched dishes. The green burrito was horrible it was smothered in a watery green sauce. It was so watery that my rice and beans were soaked. It was like they poured a “Green Chile” soup all over it. So I asked the owner if this burrito was normally so watery. WOW did this open the gates to hell!! She was very offended but offered to take it off our bill or get us something else. We decided we didn’t want anything and she aggressively took the plate off our table. Went in the back (we were sitting right next to the kitchen) and threw the plate and yelled I’M MAD!!! Not once after that did she come back and check on us or say anything else to us. We went up to the counter to pay and the bill was not adding up right since she took the burrito off. I questioned her about it and immediately she got offended once again and tossed her calculator at me and said you already wasted 9 of my dollars you can add it up. THIS IS WAS THE OWNER JUST A REMINDER!! I was so distraught by this I raised my voice and told her you NEVER talk to your customers like this! Her respond was I do not care just pay me and get out! I told her I was going to tell everyone about this awful experience and once again she raised her voice and responded I DON’T CARE! Their food has never been good anyways I have tried numerous dishes and have only found one dish that is worth my money. I will give them this though they make awesome margaritas!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rion0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,672 reviews
1,069 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
“The only thing Mexican about this restaurant is the name and that is its strong point.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Ok guess what kind of restaurant is this? Or better what is it the owners want it to be? Maybe the answer is in the name. Maybe.
I guess I have never been to the exact part of Mexico this particular cuisine supposedly comes from. Probably south tex-Costco And the new improved cheaper zap
Microwave probably are from the very same region. Fortunately Mexico hasn't microwaves, at least in my experience they seem a little behind in zappery. And although Costco has discovered Mexico so probably tex-Costco will be in Mexico soon,
If not already. Lucky Mexicans!
Anyway not my favorite. Rather go on a 40 day fast and say I'd eaten there at the Rio again but actually will order and just stick with the ice water. Can't get that very easily in Mexico, so that would certainly go with the restaurants offerings . I have thrown out
my microwave and tossed it out into the garbage after the very first reports of unsafety of microwaves for purpose of human consumption by the American cancer institute.. Good thing to have these carcegenic toxic radiation zap our food in these restaurants though, it will certainly keep our over population under control, death by zap. I would
Recommend skip this and try another proven good well rated
restaraunt in Astoria. Many good ones available here, Plaza Jalisco very close and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Cafe also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing