We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay”
Review of Rose River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose River Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Astoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

In a city with limited B&Bs, this is a good choice. The location is great and you can walk to many restaurants and attractions. The walk to the east to see the sea lions, though, is about a mile, (take the trolley instead) and there is no public access to the docks. The loud animals can be heard from a distance, but you'll need binoculars to see them well.

Our second floor room (Sunflare?) had everything we needed, including a porch with a view of the Columbia River where ships cruised by all day long.

The owners are very nice. The breakfast was quite good, and the frittata was marvelous. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Sunflare has a nice porch with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Wonderful B&B. Conveniently located. Great owners. Tasty breakfasts. But I could never stay there again because of the heavy use of fabric softener. I have a problem with chemicals, so obviously this would not be an issue for many people. But fabric softeners are chemicals and really not healthy for anyone. I have washed my pajamas several times and they still smell like fabric softener just from being between the sheets. Ditch the fabric softener use and I would absolutely give this place a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jocarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roseriverinn, Owner at Rose River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that you feel I use to much fabric softener. But if this was such a issue for you, informing me before hand I would have taken the necessary actions to eliminate the smell of fabric softener. As I have done this for other guests in the past nine years that I have been in business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This B&B is conveniently located close to Main St. with many restaurants around. We stayed one night in Sunflower room. The bed was good and there was a nice glassed balcony with the view of the port. The hostess was friendly. She suggested a few restaurants out of which we picked Baked Alaskan which is a 5-minute walk from there and which we would recommend for both the quality of the food and the view. Next morning we had a truly delicious breakfast which we enjoyed in the company of two other couples. All in all our experience with this B&B was excellent and if we ever come back to Astoria, OR we would definitely stay there.

Room Tip: Sunflower room has a glassed balcony separated by the bathroom from the bedroom. Nice place to read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank europetraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Roomy, comfy, B and B room with a delicious breakfast. What's not to like. The B and B is surrounded by nicely maintained gardens and outside sitting areas. It is centrally located and the hosts Dave and Pam are fully of local knowledge. The house is furnished with a nice collection of antiques. I highly recommend the River room. It includes a nice sun with views of the River. The prices are very comparable to the local hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and. I stayed at the Inn for two nights, August 11th and 12th. We just wanted a little get-away and time to spend exploring Astoria. We totally did that and had a great time. Astoria is a very interesting small town with a great deal of Northwest history. Couldn't have asked for a better history lesson or for a better place to stay when were finished exploring for the day. The yard is beautiful and the public areas are warm and inviting. Lots of interesting things to look at through out. We stayed on the third floor in the Inspiration Suite. We did not need all that space but was the last available for our time frame and turned out to be perfect. It looks exactly like the photos on the website. Couldn't has ask for the space to be more comfortable. The hosts and other guests were extremely warm and friendly. Breakfasts were delicious filled with good conversation. Without any doubt or reservation I strongly recommend this B&B. All things considered you couldn't ak for a better place to stay in Astoria.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have something special to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The inn has a beautiful garden of roses, hydrangeas, dahlias and more to greet you as you walk through the white picket fence. The inn is full of antiques and collectibles that Pam has collected over the years. We stayed in the Inspiration Suite - a king sized bed in the room with a sitting room attached, and a separate bedroom with two double beds. Four of us enjoyed sitting in the high backed chairs in our sitting room, enjoying the view of Astoria down the hill. We joined other guests for a delicious full breakfast. This B&B is a short walk from the Blue Scorcher Bakery & Fort George Brewery - two places you must visit! Pam and David were great hosts and we would recommend Rose River Inn to others.

Room Tip: The Inspiration Suite is the only room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in Rose River Inn in August 2013 and found it a delightful B and B in a brilliant location just a short walk from Astoria's main street and waterfront . We strolled down to a restaurant on the pier for dinner the night we were there . Nice breakfast in dining room with a view of the town . Bedroom was comfortable and we had own bathroom .The garden was in full bloom and looked beautiful and hosts are very friendly and hospitable .
There is an interesting run down old mansion over road which has a fascinating history
which you can read about while you are there . We would definitely stay there again .

Room Tip: Our room was on 1st floor and was spacious and well equipped . We also had our own bathroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan and sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astoria hotels
1.3 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#5 of 14 in Astoria
757 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
1.7 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose River Inn

Address: 1510 Franklin Ave, Astoria, OR 97103-3718
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Astoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Astoria
Price Range: £99 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftman style house, walking distance to the downtown and Columbia River. 5 rooms all with private en-suite bathrooms, some with river views. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rose River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing