We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose River Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elliott(Astoria)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Hotel(Astoria)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Astoria Crest Motel(Astoria)(Great Value!)
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norblad Hotel And Hostel(Astoria)(Great Value!)
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
118
27
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
27
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquichegreat hostsb bfresh fruitsitting roomsun porchrose roomnice ownersbeautiful rosesbreakfast was deliciouswhite picket fencefavorite featurethe riveregg dishesold housefood allergiesastoria column
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

stayed here for a few nights when i was visiting my dad. very nice and clean rooms. owners were super friendly and helpful with everything we needed. did not eat the breakfast because we went out to eat with my dad in the mornings, so i cannot comment on that. my only complaint was that our room did not have a shower, only a bath, so it was not convenient to clean off (the description of the room probably said there was only a bath, but i didnt notice it when booking).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank staysea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We only stayed one night, but felt very comfortable and welcome. Pam and David both greeted us when we arrived and were quite friendly. Pam even asked more specific questions about food allergies and such. We are both vegetarian and Pam was very gracious about making sure she knew specifically what we eat and don't. We aren't vegan, but she would have changed meals to suit that as well, too.
The room we stayed in (Othello) was comfortable and very clean. The decor is a little on the antique side, but it was fun to walk around looking at tea cups, pictures and collections. Love the old clawfoot bathtub!
Their collection of movies is more than awesome, but of course being in Astoria we had to watch the Goonies. In each room there are a few notebooks of points of interest, maps, historical info and of course menus of the large amount of restaurants that are well within walking distance. We ate at Baked Alaska and were extremely happy with our choice!! Their menu is primarily seafood, but if you let your server know their chef will make a special vegetarian dish to order. The veggie pasta was huge and amazing! And their namesake the non-traditional baked alaska is so worth having - who doesn't love flaming cookie and ice cream?! Delicious! Since it was off season, though, we were pretty much the only patrons which was a little uncomfortable, but their great staff and food made up for it.
The next morning we were greeted by Penny Lane the beautiful chihuahua basking in the sun on the back of the couch. She is not a yappy little dog, but a lovely affectionate creature. Also on the landing at 7:30 am apears coffee, tea and hot chocolate to enjoy before breakfast.
Breakfast was a delicious three course meal of fruit then roasted potatos and veggie/egg fritata and then a pretty little piece of cake! As well as orange juice and coffee.
We are both in our twenties and have tattoos and facial piercings, but Pam and David treated us like anyone else which was noticed! We appreciated their hospitality and wonderfully kept B & B.
What a perfect place to stay and especially off season because rates were down and no crowds.
Don't forget to find the Goonies house, watch the barking sealions and climb the stairs of the Astoria column!!

P.s. There is an option when reserving your room online to add the "romance" package which is about $30 more, but includes a dozen BEAUTIFUL roses, wine(or champagne), and freakin awesome chcolate covered strawberries. You can add this to your room later if you call secretly to surprise your girlfriend :)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LolaPantsMcDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

When we first arrived in Astoria we only intended to stay for one night, but after just one night at the Rose River Inn we knew we had to stay for a second night. The owners are extremely friendly and accomodating and do their best to make you feel relaxed in their home. Though our room was small it was attractively and thoughfully decorated and our cute bathroom was at the back of the house meaning we got a view of the river while showering. The outside of the house is also pretty and we spent a pleasant couple of house in the afternoon relaxing on the front deck in their lovely garden. The breakfasts were also extremely tasty and worth waiting until 9am for.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Pam and David really made sure we had a great stay. My friend was biking the Oregon coast, and this was her "launch point." Pam got up early to accommodate our travel schedule and her early departure. What a kick off breakfast!! The rooms were great, they have over 500 movies to choose from, it's a short walk to the town, and the bed was SO COMFORTABLE. I am looking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoteldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Could not rave about this one night stay enough, Pam, David and Penny could not have made us more welcome. The room was ideal, breakfast was amazing and the selection of DVDs was fantastic. The grown ups enjoyed Twilight - we had been to Forks and La Push prior to Astoria and the kids had filled us in on the backstory. We loved the "Wet Dog" as recommended by our hosts. The joint breakfast at 9am allowed us to hear a bit more about American current events ... which we loved. A really nice contrast to a load of faceless hotels. Not of caution ... there are a lot of delightful ornaments and collectables... this is not a B&B for younger kids or clumsy people!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews