We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stone Village Tourist Camp
Ranked #3 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Ft. Worth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Charming renovated motor court with modern conveniences. I stayed in a queen efficiency, room #4 to be exact. The room amenities included a walk in shower, working AC, ceiling fan, desk, tv and two sitting chairs.

The only things that were not perfect was my well traveled laptop could not find the wi-fi and the bathroom was pretty small. I was pretty tired after a 12 hr drive and went to bed early so I didn't really miss the wi-fi.

There's no coffee or continental breakfast but just across the parking lot is the Stone Village Grocery Store that has a nice selection of coffee, pastries and breakfast biscuits/croissants. The store also has just about anything else you might need during your stay.

While in Ft. Davis besides seeing the fort, I highly recommend the scenic loop and don't forget to go back out after dark and see all the stars (you don't have to go to the observatory just get out of the city lights).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondo_Ft_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    45
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
57
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Really lovely little place. We had a camp room which has three stone Walls and one screen wall with a heavy curtain. Super clean and a great place to escape the city.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivoryginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

No need to worry that you are traveling alone. You will feel safe, comfortable and spoiled. You can park your car at your door and never move it till you leave. I spent my days in the pool and enjoyed bread, wine and cheese from store just steps from my room. Evening walks thru town were enjoyed with my dog. They are extremely pet friendly. Going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George West, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I was suppose to stay 3 nights, but I only stayed 1 night. The room was very clean and bed was so comfortable, but my sister wanted me to stay with her and some friends somewhere else. I wish I would have stayed all 3 nights. I ended up on a blowup mattress. The price was not that much difference. The nice man let me out of my reservation and I appreciate that. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This old Depression era auto court has been renovated into a great stopover place in Fort Davis. The little "suite" we had was four small rooms with a sitting area, kitchen with table, bedroom and small bath.
While it was built in the 1930s, there are now two small flat screen TVs, a comfortable bed and a long porch outside with chairs to take in the cool nights in the Davis Mountains.
It's an affordable place to stay on Fort Davis' main drag. There's a gourmet food market next door and a great Mexican food place a block up the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tordown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This place was so charming! My husband and I stayed in one of the camp rooms and we didn't really have to "rough it" with a sink in the room, ceiling fan and wifi. It was a little warm when we went to sleep, but cooled off well during the night. It was August in Texas, after all. The owner was really friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were very clean. I would agree with the previous review... more ventilation in the restroom would be great. But who really cares about that when you have free coffee, quiet neighbors and a gorgeous view? All for a really reasonable price. I would stay again in a heartbeat. Thank you, Stone Village!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraryLady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Clean, convenient, and comfortable! With a kitchenette in our room and a pretty great (well-stocked) store/deli on the property, we had everything we needed for taking day trips around the area, as well as a refreshing pool to come back to after sight-seeing. Randall the manager was friendly and informative. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no window or vent in the bathroom, but loved everything else. Huge ice machine. The rooms in back (where we stayed) are probably quieter than those on the street, and we could park our car right in front of the door for easy loading / unloading.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank seekswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
399 reviews
21.2 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
483 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
538 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
213 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Village Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Village Tourist Camp

Property: The Stone Village Tourist Camp
Address: 509 North State Street, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated 30's era motor court, the rooms are simple and varying size. Hard wood floors, cedar ceilings, native rock exterior. Each room is different. One or two queen beds. Kitchenette's are comprised of water source, 2 person dining table, seating, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Baths are either tub/shower or walk-in shower. Flat panel televisions in all rooms except Rm#1. Rooms described as efficiency may not be equipped with appliances. The modern section, originally built in the 60's features two queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave are stowed in cabinet, coffee maker, flat panel TV and curbside parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Hotel Fort Davis
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing