We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stone Village Tourist Camp
Ranked #3 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Randall and his crew always do a great job. We've stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. Recommend highly. We prefer the camp rooms but only because we've never bothered to try anything else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalpokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    45
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
57
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Mulhern House is a guest house apparently with the same owner/operator as The Stone Village Tourist Camp.

It is on a quiet street quite separate from the main Tourist Camp.

Mulhern House is difficult to classify: It is not a B & B, because breakfast is not included. And it is not a hotel or motel because there is no housekeeping during your stay. Maybe that’s why they call it a “guest house”?

It is an old house divided into several suites. Each has different features. Check them all online, then specify your selection when you book.

It is furnished with antiques, but is not as cluttered as such places often are. The common areas are delightful: a huge porch with chairs and tables, a large functional kitchen with laundry room, and inviting dining and seating areas.

The lawn has a grill, hammock, chairs, and a table out back, but it is not a “garden”. Overgrown and probably original foundation plantings surround the house, and the grass is cut – but that’s about it (except for a neglected-looking veggie garden way out back.)

Our only complaint was the “water saver” on the shower. Because only a thin stream trickles out, allow extra time for your showers – but remember: Ft. Davis is currently in drought.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalltrekkerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

we have been 4 times. a great travel hub if you have frist-timers to big bend area. Randy always remembers us when we make reservations.will be taking all our family this summer. I LOVE STAYING HERE, THEY AND THE OTHER GUESTS ARE SO FRIENDLY.

Room Tip: no way, they may be there when we are. ;>))
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guadalupegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 while visiting Fort Davis, Marfa, and the McDonald Observatory. The hotel is right on the main street in Fort Davis about 5-6 blocks north of Hotel Limpia and most of the restaurants. We stayed in one of the renovated double queen rooms. Beds were comfortable, room was clean and spacious. Parking was right outside of the room so no issues getting the car unpacked. Only downside to the room was the smallish bathroom and vanity area.

The pool and pool area was nice - perfect for kids to burn off some energy. The hotel is right next to a great market and deli (I believe under the same ownership). They have a big city selection of gourmet and organic foods and the prepared breakfast options were fantastic - cinnamon rolls, breakfast tacos and croissants.... The organic Big Bend Roasters coffee was a definite plus and a freebie for hotel guests. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

I had to come back and this time I brought my daughter and granddaughter. This time we stayed in a camp room. It was perfect! We had fresh air thru the locked screen door, not too hard and not too soft mattresses and a rollaway bed. We enjoyed picnics near the pool, in the shade of big trees from the deli store steps away. If you enjoy personal service from a caring owner, you will love it.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Enjoyed our stay, the room was nice and clean, fun to stay in a tourist camp, been a few years! Very helpful owner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2012

stayed in the truehart house. it was very nice to stay somewhere that had so much character, but our suite was quite cold at night. the outside temp was in the 30s & we couldn't get the inside temp to 70. the folks in the other suite said that the temp in their suite was 58. otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay & thought the location was great.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
399 reviews
21.2 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
483 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
538 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
211 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Village Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Village Tourist Camp

Property: The Stone Village Tourist Camp
Address: 509 North State Street, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated 30's era motor court, the rooms are simple and varying size. Hard wood floors, cedar ceilings, native rock exterior. Each room is different. One or two queen beds. Kitchenette's are comprised of water source, 2 person dining table, seating, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Baths are either tub/shower or walk-in shower. Flat panel televisions in all rooms except Rm#1. Rooms described as efficiency may not be equipped with appliances. The modern section, originally built in the 60's features two queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave are stowed in cabinet, coffee maker, flat panel TV and curbside parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Hotel Fort Davis
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing