We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step above camping - and we loved it.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stone Village Tourist Camp
Ranked #3 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were starting a 7 day bike trip to Big Bend from Fort Davis and were booked at this venue for our first night. We were worried. But it was a GREAT experience. . The pictures on line do NOT do it justice. We stayed in one of the rooms with a screen wall to the outside - it was unique and comfortable. A very big step up from camping - which was on the docket for 3 of out 7 nights. The town is dead at night so the screen wall worked great. The host/owner was fantastic and catered dinner for the group the first night. If I ever get back to this part of TExas again, I am staying here.

Room Tip: Get one of the screen rooms - not a standard room. A warning - showers and bathroom are common - non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

I don't normally take the time to post reviews of places I stay, but I feel compelled to write a review about Stone Village Tourist Camp. We have stayed here many times, in both the camp rooms and regular rooms. Stone Village is not only spotlessly clean, but the atmosphere that the owners have created is amazing. The pool is an amazing amenity as well; it is heated to ensure a great experience even in the cooler spring and fall months. Our dogs are always welcome here, and we are always made to feel very welcome as well. The camp rooms are definitely worth trying, if you like the idea of camping without the hassle of bringing your own equipment. The cozy beds with pillow top mattresses in the camp rooms will give you the most relaxing comfortable sleep, and the beds are plenty warm even in the cooler months in spite of no heat. If you are coming to the Ft Davis area please do yourself a favor and stay at Stone Village. I don't think you'll regret it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpacyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We slept well in our curtained screen-door room. The beds were excellent and we stayed warm enough under the warm covers even in early March. The tap water isn't very tasty, so many will want to drink bottled water or something else (I assume this is Fort Davis's problem, not specific to the Stone Village). Be aware that since these rooms don't have a solid door that sounds from outdoors are able to be heard, such as every footstep or softly voiced conversation (in our case, a group of teens horsing around)--the effect is more similar to the sound of a campground than a typical lodging. All of the above weren't really a problem for us.

The problem: We were disappointed in the bathrooms that are shared by the non-motel guests. The two men's and two women's showers, though small, were acceptable, but there aren't enough of them for the number of non-motel guests. Therefore there was a considerable line of women waiting to shower, and at least one guest decided a shower could wait for another time. When the showers are in use the bathrooms get very stuffy. Finally, the curtained (no door) toilet stalls are too small--when sitting on the toilet the curtain hangs against the front of your knees and lower legs, while other bathroom users walk by in the narrow passageway. My suggestion would be for the Stone Village to construct additional and more suitable bathroom facilities on the premises for their non-motel guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everjoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Did not expect to spend the night in Fort Davis so we hadn't researched lodging options. When we checked out the Stone Village Tourist Camp we were offered a look at a room and immediately knew this was the right place for the night. Friendly, helpful staff, a historic property with modern and comfortable features, dog-friendly ($10.00 fee) and a very quiet room despite its location on main drag. The property has regular rooms with bathrooms (we stayed in one of these) and "camp rooms" which we were told are popular in warmer weather. The camp rooms are very unique - it looks like the former carports at the inn were converted so you get four walls and a ceiling with a screened and curtained front wall, shared baths, and period-looking furnishings. If we're ever back during warmer weather, the camp rooms would be a hoot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I went to the Stone Village Market twice a day during my 3 night stay in Fort Davis. They have an excellent breakfast and lunch menu as well as roasted chicken in the evenings. I made friends with the staff and would advise anyone to stop in and visit the bakery.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a little motor inn off the highway that feels more like a B&B or speciality lodge. The rooms are bursting with character and small beautiful details. Loved the comfy mattresses, had a great nights sleep. Its a bit on the rustic side - but keep in mind, this is far West Texas, its all rustic out here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stayed 3 nights in Room 4 of the Stone Village Tourist Camp and loved it. I was by myself, but the room would have also been great for a couple. The room is small in size, but had everything you would need. You have to remember - this place wasn't built in the last 10 years, so it is a throwback to a simpler time of motor courts and Mom & Pop motels along the roadside. The room has a hardwood floor and a wood ceiling, a small, but fully equipped and CLEAN bathroom, desk, a couple chairs to relax in and a queen-size bed. As a guest, you can get free coffee at the market next door and while you're there, try the freshly baked multi-berry turnovers for a nice light breakfast! The motel has a nice pool and friendly staff. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: The older section of the motel is further off the main road through town, but the accommodations are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
414 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
261 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
557 reviews
21.2 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
498 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Village Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Village Tourist Camp

Address: 509 North State Street, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated 30's era motor court, the rooms are simple and varying size. Hard wood floors, cedar ceilings, native rock exterior. Each room is different. One or two queen beds. Kitchenette's are comprised of water source, 2 person dining table, seating, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Baths are either tub/shower or walk-in shower. Flat panel televisions in all rooms except Rm#1. Rooms described as efficiency may not be equipped with appliances. The modern section, originally built in the 60's features two queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave are stowed in cabinet, coffee maker, flat panel TV and curbside parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Hotel Fort Davis
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing