We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stone Village Tourist Camp
Ranked #3 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were looking for something different at a good price and we found it here at The Stone Village Tourist Camp. We wanted a motor-camp feeling as in days past and we got it. Nice swimming pool with a warm wood fire nearby so that we could visit with other travelers staying there for the night. We like to think it was more like travel in the old days where travelers had the opportunity to visit in a relaxing area outside if they so wished. Visit the deli next door for food and wine. Visit their web site to see the room options. We will definitely return on our next visit to Fort Davis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

I've stayed at the Stone Village Tourist camp a few times & it has always been great. I go to Ft Davis with the Hill Country BMW riders every year & we have stayed in a few other places in the area but none are a s friendly at the folk here. The rooms are nice & the price is good. I have just made my reservation for this years trip out in March & can not wait to see Randall & his staff again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randallsvtc, Owner at The Stone Village Tourist Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks so much for the vote of confidence! We do appreciate you and your organization, Hill Country BMW Riders!

Related to this review: We take care of hundreds (literally) of motorcyclist, many in groups or clubs.

Stone Village Tourist Camp, in my mind, makes an excellent stay for two reasons:

Your bike is as close to your room as you can park it without inconviencing other guests;
The accomodations are ideal for light packing.

I believe those two assets make the stay here enjoyable, not to mention the proximity of the Stone Village Market and the pool w/firepit.

Don't forget to ask for rags!

Happy Trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights while we explored the Fort Davis area and enjoyed the Stone Village Tourist Camp. We chose to stay in one of the more basic rooms, which was in retrospect perhaps a bit too small for two people and lacked tea and coffee making and a fridge, but that was our fault for not checking more carefully when booking. On that basis I'd recommend going for something a little bigger, as all the rooms seem to be slightly different. That aside we found the owner friendly and welcoming, the location peaceful and quiet, and the lovely little pool was a real bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms vary a bit in size and facilities so choose carefully to match your needs.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JerryBTW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband & I spent out last night of vacation at this motel, renting a 1 bedroom "suite." The owner, Randall, went above & beyond to ensure our comfort; he got us checked in earlier than specified & provided a bbq pit so we could grill in front of our room. The ambiance of this small lodge is one of comfort while the nice front porch & comfortable chairs encouraged guests to sit outside and enjoy the weather. We will definitely stay here again during future trips to the Davis Mountains. My only complaint is that the bed was too soft for me, but our bed at home is super firm so I'm just not used to a soft bed. No reason to lower the score though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyS264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We spent a night in room #3 (renovated motor court), it was cute little room which was perfect for us. Bed was nice and firm, ceiling fan kept the room very comfy. Walk in shower was small but very clean. There is a mini fridge to keep your drinks cold, and microwave for your night snacking.
And of course, their market comes in very handy. Overall, we loved this little place. And people keeps this place makes you feel very welcomed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank StinkyTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We go to Ft. Davis a lot, thought we'd give this place a try. The best thing was the pool area. The room had a sour smell, probably need a new rug between the beds. And if you're tall, don't stay in room #7! And for the price, the Limpia & Indian Lodge are a better choice.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Stone Village Tourist Camp was one of 17 hotels/motels
we stayed in on a 3500 mile loop though the southwest to visit
some new (to us) National Parks. It was unquestionably the
worst of the lot. Firstly, I picked Fort Davis because it was
approximately half way between Carlsbad Cavern & Big Bend NPs.
To say this is a one horse town would be overstating it. The
only paved road is State Street (Route 17). All the other roads
are dirt. The only good thing I can say about our room at the
Stone Village is that it had several large wastebaskets; too bad
the owners hadn't put most of what was in the room into them.
The beds were old and the mattress' sagged in the middle. Plenty
of moths had made their way into the room and had taken up residence
on the curtains and walls. The toilet was not bolted properly to
the bathroom floor and felt like it was going to tip over at any minute
when you sat on it. The drain in the shower was clogged so you ended
up standing in several inches of gray water after a quick soap up.
The whole property was just grubby, from the dirty vestibule entering
the room to the trash around the common areas. We would have been
much better continuing on another 25 miles to Alpine, TX where there
were several big chain hotels. Probably would have been cheaper than the
$104/night I paid for this dump er "tourist camp".

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank atkinsonguy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randallsvtc, Owner at The Stone Village Tourist Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

It is always unfortunate when facilities don't meet expectations and this individual obviously did not like the entire town, which has more than one horse and one paved road.

It is our duty, as responsible inn-keepers to accommodate guest to any reasonable length and had either the desk clerk who checked this party, or the owners, had known of these issues, we would have gladly made arrangements in another room or fully refund the charges.

As it was, we were not informed by this party until after the room was vacated and his comments were noted in our 60 second critic.

As to the cleanliness, trash and overall grubby-ness; I'm not sure what they are referring to.

Please know that we strive to make your stay here a pleasant experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
71 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
509 reviews
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
0.4 mi away
Davis Mountains Inn
Davis Mountains Inn
#6 of 7 in Fort Davis
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Village Tourist Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Village Tourist Camp

Address: 509 North State Street, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated 30's era motor court, the rooms are simple and varying size. Hard wood floors, cedar ceilings, native rock exterior. Each room is different. One or two queen beds. Kitchenette's are comprised of water source, 2 person dining table, seating, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Baths are either tub/shower or walk-in shower. Flat panel televisions in all rooms except Rm#1. Rooms described as efficiency may not be equipped with appliances. The modern section, originally built in the 60's features two queen beds, mini-fridge, microwave are stowed in cabinet, coffee maker, flat panel TV and curbside parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Hotel Fort Davis
The Stone Village Tourist Camp Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing