We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Indian Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love the Indian Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Where do I start? The views, the rooms, the restaurant, the pool? It's all great! The room we stayed in was quiet and nice! We had a great view from our window of a beautiful sunrise. The lodge itself is beautiful too! Make sure to walk around and take a look at it all. Make sure to hit the pool while the water is still warm. We went in the summer and the water got pretty cold once the sun was starting to go down. Your family will love it here :)

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_funness_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    117
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
114
161
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

First time to visit this area and I loved it! The rooms were comfortable, restaurant had wonderful buffets, staff were friendly and the view was fantastic! The national park was closed (the day after Labor day through Feb. 2014) for renovations, so we weren't able to walk around the camp sites or hike. There was one trail behind the lodge we were able to take - spectacular scenery.

Saw the NASA LADEE satellite go over the mountains on Sept. 6th, then up early to see the sunrise come over the mountains. Nice relaxing few days.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I just returned home from our weekend at Indian Lodge. This is one of our favorite places to go for a few days. The lodge is rustic and comfortable. The staff is friendly and efficient. The Black Bear Restaurant is on site and the food is very good and the staff make each meal a very enjoyable experience. We are already planning our next trip. When you go, make it a point to go to a Star Party at the McDonald Observatory and visit the fort in Fort Davis. The Davis Mountains are pretty and the climate is mild. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We have a favorite but it is a secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2571Oldsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, tx
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Indian lodge. Our room was on the second floor and had a great view of the Davis Mountains. The bed was a double (all that was available) but very comfortable if a bit cozy. The lodge was built in the 1930s by the CCC, and is furnished with the original tables, chairs, etc. It was like stepping back in time. The bathrooms are very basic, but there were nice thick fluffy towels which were unexpected in a facility managed by the Texas parks and wildlife department. We were there after school started so the atmosphere was relatively peaceful with just a few families and mostly adults as fellow guests. Staff was very polite and responsive and the restaurant is very good. would definitely return (after kids are in school).

Room Tip: Ask for second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a place! I hadn't been here since I was a kid and so I didn't know what to expect concerning some of the modern upgrades to the facilities. It's difficult to maintain the historic character of a structure such as this and still have all the amenities of a more recently built hotel.
The barn swallows were looking after their chicks and performed aerial acrobatics every time they approached us. We had a room with a view of the canyon to the east; spectacular sunrises greeted us each day. Jeff Davis County has received lots of rain recently, and as I drove around the area of the Davis Mountains, I couldn't help but hum the theme from 'The Sound of Music'. It looked like Austria in the summer, not West Texas. Incredible. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a historic place and very novel to say the least. It's pretty rugged. The rooms are big, but there are swallows all over the place, like right over our door and we had to step in poop to get into the room. I could have dealt with all of it but when I went to run a bath and there was no hot water, I was livid. I would have checked out the next morning except the have a 72 hour cancellation policy. I just feel like if I pay $95 a night for a room, plus taxes, it's not too much to expect hot water for my bath. Also the tub didn't drain. I called and they said we were on the end of the line, so to let the water run a long time. if I'd done that the tub would have been full of cold water. She suggested I wait until morning to take a bath because it was night time and other guests may have used all the hot water. I didn't get much comfort from her solution. Also there was something buzzing 24/7 in our room. The area is very interesting, but if I ever go again, I will find a hotel with hot water,

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with no stairs; there are some rooms that would be very difficult to negot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryjo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

A stay at Indian Lodge in Davis Mountains State Park is like stepping back in history BUT with modern conveniences--A/C, bathroom, and a flat-screen TV. Beautiful old hotel built by the CCC, made of adobe bricks in the pueblo-style with 18-inch thick walls and beautifully restored cane ceilings. We were in #122 with a king bed in the old section on the top floor. (You want the top floor because the floors are old and super creaky! You don't want to hear your upstairs neighbors walking around after your bedtime!) Nice bathrooms, very clean, comfy king bed and only one small part of shared wall with any other unit. Nice pool for lodge guests only (no campground people allowed). All the staff, esp. the cleaning staff, are wonderful folks. It's a great place to sit out on the porch and meet your lodge neighbors and visit about what they found to do that day in the area.

August is the perfect time to visit the Davis Mountains-high temps in the low 80s (lows in the 60s) and didn't even use the A/C the second day because of the rain-cooled air. It's the monsoon season in August so afternoon showers clearing off in the evening make for great cool days.

Next time I'll choose #123 because it has a small sitting room off the bedroom with a loveseat or #121 with a pull-out sofa in addition to the beds--both on the top floor.

Three things on my wish list for this hotel-(1) add microwave (2) add fridge (3) add hair dryer.

Reminders: (1) No cell service at the Lodge or in the state park but cell service 4 miles away in Ft. Davis. (2) No internet access in the room but there is free wifi in the lounge room by the pool along with one computer for guest use.

I would also say that Ft. Davis restaurants have been weighed and measured and found wanting. Good food found in Alpine. The Black Bear Restaurant at the Lodge has a breakfast and an dinner buffet for $10-15 per person and they were both good, just a bit expensive but the restaurant staff was wonderful. Porter's Thriftway is a small grocery store in town but the room doesn't have a fridge or microwave so making your own meals is difficult. Ice chest and sandwich meat as well as milk and cereal work well.

Skyline is a good hike. The Chihuahuan Desert Center has a great hike of 1 to 3 miles depending on the route you choose. Star Party at McDonald Observatory is a must and daytime our is also good. Marfa Lights viewing is 25 miles away (free). Museum of the Big Bend is 22 miles away in Alpine (free/donation).

Now about the noise . . . (1) even though the walls are thick, the sound carries between rooms. Even in our room #122, which has only a small, shared-wall, we could hear the husband and wife talking (well past midnight, I might add). This man was just plain loud as we encountered him around the grounds during the days so maybe our experience with the sound coming thru the walls is a little worse than neighboring-guests who curb their voices. (2) In addition, there always seem to be multi-generational families visiting and they often have little regard for the peace & quiet that this lodge in this secluded setting provide. They let the kids run a bit "wild" around the lodge because it is small and safe and many of these kids have not been taught to respect the privacy of other lodge guests. We had two different families during our 4-day stay (including the loud guy) who just let the kids run around the lodge's different levels and in and out of the public rooms playing tag and yelling. (3) Also, don't get a room by the pool area as the kids are very loud at the pool. Maybe a September stay, after the kids are back in school, would be the best time to visit for peace and quiet.

I would have given this hotel a 5 if it hadn't been for the families who were disturbing the peace night and day. It would be good if the state park staff could monitor the outdoor and public areas and encourage an atmosphere befitting the peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: #123 for additional sitting room off the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayziewazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
23.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
23.3 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge

Property: Indian Lodge
Address: Hwy 118, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Fort Davis
Indian Lodge Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing