We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go now!”
Review of Indian Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Although the Park is technically closed, the Lodge, restaurant, pool, and trails are open. So there are many fewer people than usual. We had the old honeymoon suite which is a large room in the historic section. It was very quiet with four sets of windows. The king bed is really comfy!

The only negative is the WIFI connection is bad in this room. But it's good in the activity room and other areas of the Lodge. The hiking trails are strenuous but beautiful. Go early before the sun is intense. We saw mule deer and javelinas.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SoWhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a must visit lodge that has a unique history located in the Davis Mountains State Park. One can just relax at the lodge's swimming pool or hike some of the trails that begin right outside the lodge. This is an ideal location to explore Fort Davis, Balmorhea Springs or the observatory.

.

Room Tip: Book a few weeks ahead during peak season and hike the trail that overlooks Fort Davis. Hike the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Where do I start? The views, the rooms, the restaurant, the pool? It's all great! The room we stayed in was quiet and nice! We had a great view from our window of a beautiful sunrise. The lodge itself is beautiful too! Make sure to walk around and take a look at it all. Make sure to hit the pool while the water is still warm. We went in the summer and the water got pretty cold once the sun was starting to go down. Your family will love it here :)

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family_funness_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

First time to visit this area and I loved it! The rooms were comfortable, restaurant had wonderful buffets, staff were friendly and the view was fantastic! The national park was closed (the day after Labor day through Feb. 2014) for renovations, so we weren't able to walk around the camp sites or hike. There was one trail behind the lodge we were able to take - spectacular scenery.

Saw the NASA LADEE satellite go over the mountains on Sept. 6th, then up early to see the sunrise come over the mountains. Nice relaxing few days.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I just returned home from our weekend at Indian Lodge. This is one of our favorite places to go for a few days. The lodge is rustic and comfortable. The staff is friendly and efficient. The Black Bear Restaurant is on site and the food is very good and the staff make each meal a very enjoyable experience. We are already planning our next trip. When you go, make it a point to go to a Star Party at the McDonald Observatory and visit the fort in Fort Davis. The Davis Mountains are pretty and the climate is mild. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We have a favorite but it is a secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2571Oldsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Indian lodge. Our room was on the second floor and had a great view of the Davis Mountains. The bed was a double (all that was available) but very comfortable if a bit cozy. The lodge was built in the 1930s by the CCC, and is furnished with the original tables, chairs, etc. It was like stepping back in time. The bathrooms are very basic, but there were nice thick fluffy towels which were unexpected in a facility managed by the Texas parks and wildlife department. We were there after school started so the atmosphere was relatively peaceful with just a few families and mostly adults as fellow guests. Staff was very polite and responsive and the restaurant is very good. would definitely return (after kids are in school).

Room Tip: Ask for second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a place! I hadn't been here since I was a kid and so I didn't know what to expect concerning some of the modern upgrades to the facilities. It's difficult to maintain the historic character of a structure such as this and still have all the amenities of a more recently built hotel.
The barn swallows were looking after their chicks and performed aerial acrobatics every time they approached us. We had a room with a view of the canyon to the east; spectacular sunrises greeted us each day. Jeff Davis County has received lots of rain recently, and as I drove around the area of the Davis Mountains, I couldn't help but hum the theme from 'The Sound of Music'. It looked like Austria in the summer, not West Texas. Incredible. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
20.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
298 reviews
24 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
518 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
420 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge

Address: Hwy 118, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Fort Davis
Indian Lodge Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing