We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Indian Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DFW,TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We booked one night in the Indian Lodge at the Fort Davis state park just so the grandchild could spend a night in a lodge. We travel by RV. She thought it was a great thing. It's incredibly quiet at the lodge, the rooms are nice nothing extravagant but very good for a lodge.
We were told our room had the best view of them all, we didn't see the other room's views but ours was fantastic.

The entire park is worth the drive, possibly the most beautiful part of Texas. Certainly not what you would expect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DFWMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    119
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
115
165
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
729 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

First of all I can say that the price is right. We have stayed in many of the rooms from those above the office to those down near the parking lot and have always enjoyed ourselves. It you are expecting a stay at the Ritz, good luck. If you like places with character and clean cozy rooms with all the basics, you will do just fine.

Love the little plaza area right outside the office in the courtyard There is a ton of wildlife surrounding the place, but you can start enjoying it right here. At least we did when the bird feeders were out and so were the winged diners.

The swimming pool can get a little crowded in season, but is plenty appreciated on a hot August day after hiking around the park, Fort Davis, or walking around town.

We also had a number of good meals at the Bear. The little dining hall serves up some hearty breakfasts and some tasty comfort food meals for lunch and dinner. Again, if you are looking for four star dining, you better hit the road. Otherwise, the food is very respectably prepared and as good as you would expect in any country diner.

The lodge is a perfect base for exploring nearby Fort Davis, driving the scenic loop, horseback riding at the Prude Dude Ranch, attending a star party at the MacDonald Observatory, or even a day trip to Marfa or Alpine. If you get bored during your stay it's your own damn fault.

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as you can for better room selection. The rooms above the office may be a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OmniEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Once you visit this picture perfect lodge in the heart of the Davis Mountains you will fall in love. The rooms are comfortable, the front desk staff kind, and the natural surroundings spectacular. The sunrise picture was taken right outside of my room. If only the restaurant was halfway decent. But Fort Davis is a few miles away with 3 good restaurants. And we don't go to West Texas for fine dining anyway, but peace, solitude and beauty.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaTravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

What an amazing time we all had! This is a great place to bring little ones as there is so much to do in the surrounding areas. If you don't want to camp you can stay in the beautiful accommodations. The staff could not have been any friendlier and helpful when we needed them!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kchandlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
321 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Second time staying here, and it was as good as the first. The rooms are very clean, roomy (in the new part of the lodge, not sure about the older part), and comfortable. We sat outside in the chairs provided during the evenings - the weather was great! (early July). The lodge staff is very friendly and helpful. The AC had to be fixed in our room, but they provided a mobile AC unit while they were working on the first one so it was not much of an inconvenience (and they fixed it promptly and were out of our way for the rest of the stay). Cute gift shop, so-so restaurant. The common room in the lodge is worth seeing with lots of information about the CCC who built the original lodge. Plus there are games to play and a computer to use. Will be back again and again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have windows on one side, some rooms have windows on 2 opposite sides (good for letting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Charming and lovely hotel. Clean rooms and beautiful views. Our kids loved the pool and sitting on the porch watching the swallows fly around and feed their babies in the nests under the eaves. Love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

When I booked Indian Lodge, I asked for and received a quiet room in the newer construction that is available. The room was clean, charming, and spacious, with comfortable beds and a hot shower. You do have to wait a few minutes to let the hot water reach you when you shower, but it is a small inconvenience when you are surrounded by such beauty at such a great price. We enjoyed being in the park with the hiking trails and gorgeous views. The restaurant has delicious breakfast, just give yourself a good 45 minutes to order, eat, and pay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank meg_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
23.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
23.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
24.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Lodge

Property: Indian Lodge
Address: Hwy 118, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Fort Davis
Indian Lodge Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing