We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Davis Mountains Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We did not stay in the main house but stayed in an addition to the house. It was quite large With 2 bedrooms, bathroom, living room and small kitchen (no stove) which is fine because hate to cook and the breakfast in the inn was very good. I didn't know you could serve eggs that many ways. But the mattresses in both rooms were worn out and soft. The lighting in the living room/kitchen was poor. We could not read and had to use cell phone flashlight to run microwave and make coffee. And since this is an add-on, it didn't have central heat or air like the main house. I would stay in the inn again but only in the main house.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CentauraHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedBreakfast-Inn, Owner at Davis Mountains Inn, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
For all review readers..... these reviewers must have gotten our property mixed up with another one as far as the beds go and the needs updating comment. We purchased this property in 2009 and furnished the Inn with BRAND NEW high-end furniture. The home was built by a custom builder in 1999. I can assure you the beds are NOT worn out. Regularly our guests comment on them being the best beds ever! The Fisher Hill Suite is one of our luxury suites and as you can see from the other guest reviews gets consistent high marks. Note: Reviewer on April 27 titled Great Hospitality and this one are the same party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    14
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We went to West Texas for a trip to the McDonald Observatory and to explore Fort Davis. I selected Davis Mountain Inn due to its proximity to town and our activities. The B&B main house is lovely; however, we stayed in the Fischer Hill Suite which is an additional to the main house. The Fischer Hill Suite consists of two separate bedrooms, one bathroom and a living room/kitchenette area. The bathroom was adequate and had large fluffy towels. However, the beds in both bedrooms were too soft ~ both mattresses needs to be replaced with firmer ones. The entire suite lacked sufficient light but especially the living room / kitchenette area. This suite does not have central heat or air conditioning since it is an addition. On Sunday, the temperature outside was in the 80’s and it got very warm and toasty inside the suite. We learned later that window units were suppose to be installed but hadn’t been put in yet. Breakfast was very yummy and delicious. Breakfast was prepared by Angela and she did an outstanding job. Angela is very warm and inviting. Would I stay here again? Probably so...but in the main house where the rooms all appeared to be very nice and have light, heat and air. But not in the Fischer Hill Suite until it has been updated.

Room Tip: Fischer Hill Suite needs updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene_and_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We took our family of 5 (3 children) to relax in the Davis Mountains for Spring Break. There really are not a lot of lodging choices, so we decided to stay at the Davis Mountain Inn. What a wonderful choice it was! We stayed in the Fisher Hill Suite. Perfect for a family. 2 comfortable bedrooms with a very roomy living room area, and a private porch. The family that runs this B&B can not do enough to make your stay comfortable. Our family all agreed that our morning breakfasts and card games were the highlight of the trip! Thank you, Nancy, Bill, Angela and Dessa for making our West Texas trip a memorable one!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oneday_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I spent 2 days at the Inn last week and were once again amazed by the hospitality from Bill, Nancy, and Angela! We stayed in the Guide Peak Room this time and found it impeccably clean and more than comfortable. We went to Big Bend on Friday and got some great route info that helped us see the amazing Big Bend bluebonnets at their peak! They are THE Ft. Davis area experts from restaurants to the observatory. The breakfast was great as we remembered from our first visit. We left refreshed and wishing we could stay longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Wonderful place to stay!! Love the rooms and the breakfast was yummy! I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a place to stay in Fort Davis. Thank you Nancy, Bill, Angela, and Dessa for making us feel so welcome and at home.

Room Tip: Sleeping Lion suite has a wonderful whirpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband wanted to go to the MacDonald Observatory. I planned the trip as part of his Christmas present. I found the Davis Mountain Inn, it looked like a nice B&B. It was better than nice. We were greeted by Bill, the owner. He showed us around and to our room. The room was very nice, we had the room with the whirlpool bath, nicely furnished and very, very clean. We felt so at home here. We had cookies at hot tea that evening. The next morning, Bill and his wife Nancy put on an unbelievable spread, eggs, bacon, french toast, oatmeal, fresh fruit. Another couple from Canada was staying there and the 6 of us sat for a good hour and a half and talked. They truly made us feel like one of the family. They were great hosts. I would most certainly recommend the Davis Mountain Inn and I would stay there again. It was a great find!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the whirlpool bath, it also had an entrance from the back which made it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimKSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The master suite was awesome!! January was too cold to take advantage of the outside amenities. But we will be back in the spring. McDonald Observatory was fantastic. Fort Davis was very educational too. Can't wait to re-visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkslh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.4 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
20.3 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davis Mountains Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davis Mountains Inn

Property: Davis Mountains Inn
Address: 43417 State Highway 17, 43417 State Hwy 17, Fort Davis, TX 79734-2506
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Davis Mountains Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new facility with old world charm in a beautiful, very private six-acre setting. Views of the majestic Davis Mountains and fabulous night skies from the porches and decks. Bring your telescope. Read in the shade of numerous trees or just listen to nature. This 7 bedroom Inn has plenty of room for relaxing. Each bedroom or suite is unique with amenities ranging from a Spa Bathroom, satellite TV, high speed wireless internet, private living area, wet bar, to private exterior entrances. The common living room in the main house hosts a fireplace, cathedral ceilings and beautiful lighting from the bank of windows and doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Davis Mountains Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davis Mountains Inn Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing