We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Breakfast!!”

Fort Davis Drug Store & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Fort Davis
Price range: US$4 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Fort Davis Drug Store and Hotel is an iconic business in the heart of Fort Davis, TX. It features the original Soda Fountain and Ice Cream plus Sweet Shop and Restaurant, Gift Shop and Hotel. People tell us all the time it is the very heartbeat of our community. The Historic Hotel has 6 spacious rooms with private baths in each room. Two beds in every room.
New Braunfels
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband & I ate breakfast here on a recent trip to Fort Davis. My husband ordered the 2 egg plate with hasbrowns, bacon, & pancakes and loved it. I ordered a sausage/cheese omlet with hashbrowns, sausage, & a biscuit; the omelet was the best I've ever had and the hashbrowns were perfectly done. My husband's pancakes were great; light, fluffy, and perfectly cooked. We will make this place a regular stop on our trips to the Davis Mtns.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    264
    127
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Skip breakfast here”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Fort Davis Drug Store does not lack in kitsch appeal, or "western" feel. What it does lack is quality. I had breakfast there twice (yes, there is little choice in Ft. Davis). The prices are high, which I expect when I go out to that region. The food quality is just awful. Scrambled grey eggs, sad hashbrowns, white toast. Ok, the bacon was good, and for that they get 2 stars. The service is more than slow, which I'm sort of ok with, but when your waitress is running all of the tables, and the cash register, it's beyond slow. Get salsa to cover the eggs, it was quite good.

I think you are better off at Lupita's or maybe picking up something from the store.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quilmesgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“High Prices for Fair Food”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Big City prices. However the candy and ice cream shop adds pleasure. The upstairs art gallery has unique Texas art.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunraindancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with the size of the meals!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Huge servings, good service, good quality meals. No-one went home hungry & this store has character!, worth a look around

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank grantinport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Forget the breakfast at this place”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Fried eggs so tough could not eat. Got order wrong toast instead of biscuit. Weak tasteless coffee. Unfriendly watestaff. Slow service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaBaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Davis Drug Store & Hotel also viewed

 
Fort Davis, TX
 

Been to Fort Davis Drug Store & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing