We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Blue Mountain Bistro
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Fort Davis
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bertram, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here on a recent Saturday night. We were seated at 6pm and were told that they were out of three menu items: the steak, salmon, and one other item that I can't remember. Really, it's only 6pm and they've already run out of three things!! We should have left but settled on the trout and Chicken Marsala. We were never asked if we wanted water and when I did ask, I was brought water but none for my husband. The food was mediocre at best and definitely overpriced for the quality. The sauce on the chicken was way too salty and tasted like a McCormick package mix. The rice had NO seasoning and the fish was bland. I've had better food at Lubys!! Should have driven down the road to Reata.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    104
    29
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine menu and wine selection”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's Fort Davis - would not expect to find the big city menu there, but we did. Excellent continental dishes described - two eaten! Pork tenderloin under a wonderful mocha sauce was really tasty. Salmon with green peppercorn cream sauce (sounds odd!) was delicious, as the sauce did not overpower the salmon like so many sauces do. Server's wonderful smile made up for her inexperience - she will be great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C_J_CCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmore, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent food, excellent service, beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We ate dinner here before heading to McDonald Observatory. I had the grilled veggies over quinoa and my mom had the trout. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We sat outside, and the courtyard area was beautiful and charming. I must stop for dinner in Ft. Davis!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
604 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“West Texas French?”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stopped in Fort Davis on our way to the McDonald Observatory from Martha and shopped at the shop connected to this bistro. We were still sort of loaded from our Mexican breakfast, so my wife went for the classic Caesar and I went for the salad and sandwich... small Caesar and 1/2 BLT.

The Caesar was fresh and had a light creamy dressing. My 1/2 BLT turned into a whole, but had perfect bacon and nice tomato and lettuce.

The setting inside was bistro all the way, but we opted for the garden setting outside. The service was friendly, but it was obvious that a leisurely lunch was in order as the solo server was also handling all of the inside tables and the bar. Rather than wait for the check, I just moseyed (you end up doing that in Texas) up to the bar and got rung out.

This is a place that I'd go back to to try their dinner offerings... as long as I had plenty of time on my hands.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice food with a southern european touch. And good for vegetarians too...”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice restaurant with a menu inspired by the owners' visits to southern France and Spain. Tapas and classic French dishes on the menu.

I had the seafood linguini (sort-of-Alfredo) that had great scallops and shrimps with a nice Cajun touch.

My gf who is a vegetarian had the grilled veggies and quinoa. That was also very good.

We were served by a friendly, bubbly girl who really added something to the atmosphere through her enthusiasm.

Thank you David and the team for a great meal!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Mountain Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mountain Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing