We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect relaxing, rustic, family getaway!”
Review of Prude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prude Ranch
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The perfect relaxing, rustic, family getaway!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was our third Thankgiving family holiday spent as guests of the Prude Ranch. We come here for family rest and relaxation. The staff treat you as family; from the front desk, the corral staff, the cafeteria staff, and the camp staff. The cabin accommodations are very rustic...no televisions, no electronic games; little/to no cell signal...just the peace and tranquility of West Texas. The horseback riding is a favorite draw to the ranch; 1-hour rides were offered throughout the day for $30/rider. During the holiday, there are hayrides, a thankgiving buffet feast, and typically, a traditional bonfire with western entertainment and campfire marshmellows.

Nearby attractions include the McDonald Observatory, the historical Fort Davis Park Fort, the desert botanical garden, Marfa, TX and of course, Big Bend NP.

If you are looking for a rustic getaway, dude ranch, with complete relaxation under the stars of the West Texas sky; we highly recommend the Prude Ranch.

Room Tip: Cabins 42-47 are close to the corrals and main office/cafeteria; other rooms/bunkhouses offer more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SATXFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    5
    11
    2
See reviews for
22
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Every Spring Break for the last fifteen years or so, we have packed up the van and spent the week or at least part of the week at the Ranch. The Ranch has changed over the years, but the Prude family has worked very hard to retain the feeling of belonging once you get there. I hope that never changes. They are as nice to families that stay there as they are to the large groups that come in. The Prudes recently mourned the passing of their patriarch, John Robert Prude, truly a nice man and a driving force in the summer camps held there each summer.

It is rustic, which is part of its charm. There are mountains to climb, horses to ride, and many places to visit in the area like Fort Davis National Historic Monument, Alpine, Marfa, McDonald Observatory, Balmorea State Park.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxMusicTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My family had a wonderful time at Historic Prude Ranch. There are two historical markers on the property.

The food was excellent and plentiful. They serve all you can eat buffets....We also had the meal with the chicken breast...Prude Ranch Baked Chicken, they called it. My family thought it was excellent.

The pool is refreshing and the horseback riding is superb! Great trails. They also have wireless internet throughout the ranch!

The employees are down to earth and easy to get along with.

There were several groups there at the same time and they treated my family with the same respect they treated the groups. I would highly recommend this place to other people.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

The Bad: Old, caved in mattresses---Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner served on styrofoam plates (!)----$14.95 for 1/3 chicken breast w/ cream of mushroom soup poured on top---No updating of rooms since...1970s?---No usual dude ranch activities...no campfires, cookouts, cowboy stories, smores, etc----

We stayed in room 42. The room was large but well worn. Bring your own shampoo and hair drier!

No cell service, no internet service, no phone, no tv in room, no tub in room--tiny shower only. You can drive into the town of Ft. Davis and get cell phone access (6 miles).

We saw their cook having dinner at hotel restaurant in town. Uh oh.

The Good: Horseback riding @ $30 per person---Nice scenery---It's near the McDonald Observatory---Not in town.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank houstontiger60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Davis hotels

San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Our daughter took part in a two week summer camp with lots of horseback riding at Prude Ranch which she absolutely loved (Can I go back for the whole summer next year? she asked.)

My husband and I stayed over night in one of their cabins when we went back to pick her up. It was basic, but very clean, very quiet and so relaxing. We ate supper that night and breakfast the next morning with all the campers. Good, basic food with plenty to eat.

That part of Texas is wonderful to drive through -- absolutely beautiful views.

  • Liked — Quietness
  • Disliked — a little run-down
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugzy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

My family (husband, 8 yr. old daughter, 6 yr. old son) and I stayed three nights at Prude during spring break. We enjoyed the peace and solitude at the ranch. We spent lots of time on the porch watching our kids collect treasures (rocks, sticks, etc.) and run around.

We stayed in cabin 20 and the accomodations were pretty basic: 2 beds, a table and chair set, a rocker in the room. There was a sink area with a mirror and place to hang your clothes, and a small bathroom with a very small shower stall, another sink and toilet. Note to tall folks: our shower head was very, very low. Also, warm water was a premium when we had neighbors. Housekeeping was great! Although there are no TVs or telephones in the cabins, there are TVs in the lodge and reception area with DisneyChannel access! :) I really enjoyed the lack of TVs and phones.

Food is also basic. You can definitely fill up at the family-style mealtimes. Hidden gem: In town, there is a small trailer on the left-hand side (as you go into Ft. Davis from Prude) next to the convenience/liquor store. It is called Lupita's-YUMMY!!!! Great gorditas, burritos, chalupas, burgers. Place your order and have a seat at the picnic tables to wait. Great place to eat, sit and listen to locals talk about goings-on.

We rode horses on the trail ride and enjoyed that. I thought the ride was easy enough for beginners, but had some exciting elements for them, as well. The wranglers were top-notch. Our kids discovered a horseshoe set-up in the field in front of our set of cabins, so we all did that, too. The indoor pool was open, and although we didn't swim, plenty of others were enjoying themselves. We saw lots of kiddos on bikes and wished that we had thought to bring ours. For the amount of space and the facilities that Prude has, I think they could offer a few more things for families... s'mores each night, sunrise/sunset rides, lunch rides, games, riding demos in the arena...

All in all, we had a nice time at Prude. Most of the staff went way beyond the call of duty to be friendly, help and make our stay pleasant. For us, that is what makes or breaks a place.

  • Liked — people, scenery, peace
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raiderloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Total relaxation!! Prude Ranch is not the place to stay if you have to be pampered to have a good time (such as a big hot tub and gourmet food). This is West Texas at its finest. Historic, rustic, beautiful and peaceful. The staff and other visitors were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is central to a great number of activities (Observatory, Multiple State and National Parks, Museums, Alpine, Marfa, etc.). Get out and experience nature. The horseback riding was wonderful and the skies really are "big and bright deep in the heart of Texas." The food was served bunkhouse ranch style and was exactly what was needed for active adventurers. It was tasty and no one went hungry. Dining at the ranch is not mandatory and we spent several evenings at some of the interesting and historic restaurants in Fort Davis, Alpine and Marfa. I would highly recommend Prude Ranch. We did not really appreciate how much we enjoyed ourselves until we were back in the everyday grind.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paintpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
0.0 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Davis Mountains Inn
Davis Mountains Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Davis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Limpia
The Hotel Limpia
#6 of 7 in Fort Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prude Ranch

Property: Prude Ranch
Address: PO Box 1907, Fort Davis, TX 79734-1907
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Prude Ranch Hotel Fort Davis
Prude Ranch Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing