We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay to get a taste of Ft. Davis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overland Trail Campground and RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Overland Trail Campground and RV Park
Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay to get a taste of Ft. Davis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We found this place on line in trip adviser website. We thought that it was what we wanted to even though the reviews were quite mixed. When we got there we were put into a cite in the middle and were allowed to leave before checking in. We wanted to get to the observatory before 2 pm. No problem, upon our return I had a long talk with the owner.

He is a nice guy if you just act like a regular person. Don't talk loud he doesn't like it. Being a teacher for 30 years I tend to speak loudly, he told me that he was right in front of me, and didn't I see he was right there. Latter we spoke about his building the place up from a pile of nothing to a nice clean place. We also discussed his cat that walks on a leash, his rabbits, and his retirement from the Military.

The wifi was strong, and the campground was nice. The one part that needs work are the bathrooms. Although they were very clean they were also very old and in need of renovation. This RV-Cabin campground has no pool or game room but was well situated. We were told about a great Mexican restaurant which we could byob. We picked up a six pack and went to dinner Excellent food

Rob, the hired help was very helpful and extremely nice guy. It was the perfect place to stay when visiting Ft. Davis. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    4
    7
    18
See reviews for
11
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We found this campground on the internet and chose it based on the photos and description of the place. The only positive part of our experience here was the location. It was very close to all the local attractions that we had planned to visit. However the park looked run down and empty (that should have been our first clue). The park looked nothing like the internet photos. The owner was rude. The park was very difficult to enter. The camping spots were very tight and close together. We were lead to believe it had wi-fi which never worked and we were charged for 50 amp and never got it, despite having paid extra for it.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingTine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Davis hotels

Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

As the review from Austin said, the owner/operator can be engaging! In the beginning I didn't have the warm "fuzzies", but after an evening under the stars, and just taking time to talk to him, he was quiet the charmer :) He told us about the best resturaunts to eat, and how you "can" go across the street to the liquor store, and get a bottle of wine, and take it to the Mexican Food patio and eat. He told us about the history and people whom live in the area. I would stay here again. The rooms are a little small, but not anymore crowded that onboard a ship :)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneSoaringSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

We took a group trip during spring break 2009--3 other couples with fifth wheels. The owner was swamped with people pulling in that Saturday (1st day of spring break). It seemed to make him sort of tense. Just give him a quick, comeback to his sometimes "brash" statements and he will end up being your friend. He can get to the thin-skinned. He was a sargeant in the Army so he is used to giving orders, we think, but he is really a hard-working guy trying to make a living. He has owned this park a long time. Voice your complaints to him reasonably and he will try to work with you. The park is quiet at night even though campers were parked fairly close a couple of nights. There are some cabins also but did not use them so no opinion. He allows some tents also. THE LOCATION IS GREAT--CENTRAL FT. DAVIS--CONVENIENT TO THE MARKET AND WALKING DISTANCE TO A COUPLE OF RESTAURANTS. There is a lot to do in the area--Fort Davis Historical Park, McDonald Observatory, Ft. Davis State Park, Marfa Lights--all within 25 miles. The park appears to be safe. Pets allowed but he is a stickler about picking up after your pet, which is great. He is on the premises and around the campground alot. We had conversations about history of the area and he is very informative on flora and fauna, birds, nature, etc. in this area. We left there feeling he added a lot of "flavor" to our trip and he really is very conversational and informative. We enjoyed his company. Give him a chance!
If you do the entire McDonald Observatory tours and the nightime (9:00 p.m.) Star Party,
you will not be disappointed. The astronomers there are fabulous and informative beyond our expectations!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mil1lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

I actually did not stay at this facility, but that's because I would never give my money to a business owner as rude as the owner of this place!

I called for some additional information about their facilities that was not on their website, and the owner could not have more disrespectful, unhelpful, condescending, or ruder than this guy was.

At least after reading the review posted on this website, I know I'm not the only person who was treated this way. The sad part about it is that this guys obviously doesn't feel compelled to change his ways.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ridetexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b.c.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

After driving for several hours, the wife and I just wanted to find a rv park and kick back. I found this park on the internet and thought it would be our place. As we went into the office to register the man sitting behind the desk totally ignored us, he was the most arrogant person I have ever ran into. We paid for one night stay, but we were so upset with is behavior we left for the next town.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2007

June 2007
My husband and I, our adult son, daughter-in-law, daughter and 3 grandchildren aged 1 1/2-6, and a niece and her 2 sons, aged 8 and 10 years just returned from a FUN vacation in Fort Davis. We stayed at the Overland Trail Campground for 3 nights and 4 days. The experience was great for everyone. The kids all loved the campfires and the cabins. We had a family cabin where all of the kiddos except for the little one stayed with 2 adults. The kiddos loved the family cabin. Even the baby loved to be in the family cabin in the day time between trips around the area. We also had a double cabin with 2 bedrooms and a single for one night.
I initially found it difficult to communicate over the telephone with the staff person, Dave, but once I got to know him, I found him to be helpful and almost gracious. His demeanor kind of added to the fun of "camping out" and "roughing it". My 6 years old granddaughter drew a special picture for him when we left.
We used the campfire and the camp kitchen for cooking mostly.
We have been to Fort Davis before, but this is the first time that we have stayed at the Overland Trail Campground. It was a good experience and one that we will repeat again.

  • Liked — rustic, but nice cabins and campfires
  • Disliked — having to take everything but the sheets to the site
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank socialwrker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
21.2 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overland Trail Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overland Trail Campground and RV Park

Property: Overland Trail Campground and RV Park
Address: Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Overland Trail Campground And RV Park Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing