We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cueva de Leon

Cueva de Leon
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Fort Davis
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Been to this restaurant several times over the years, and it's just as tasty as always. The wait staff is excellent and will gladly provide whatever extras you ask for. Only downside (if you don't go on buffet night) is it can take a little while to receive your order. If you dont mind waiting a few minutes for your food, you're in for a good meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gellaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    54
    39
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had the buffet. It was never fully stocked. A full tray of enchiladas were gone in about 5 minutes. Salad Bar was never fully stocked. We were thrilled to finally get guacamole, which was really good, on it only to see that all of the fajitas and tortillas were gone. They were never replenished. Others in our party ordered off the menu and said it was good. Chile Rellenos were good if a tad greasy. Someone in possibly a management position sat at a table with another couple eating and talking and would occasionally go into the kitchen but obviously with no real concern about the buffet being serviced. Server was kind and kept the tea coming. She did say more fajitas were to come but after 20 minutes I decided that wasn't going to happen. I would recommend sticking to the menu.

Helpful?
Thank MamaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galveston, tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The service was somewhat sullen (What would it have cost the waitress to have smiled even once?) and the fajita salad was greasy and uninspired. My companion didn't finish her meal, which was a typical Mexican fare; it just wasn't good enough to make her want to finish it. I took home some left-overs from my salad but threw them away after I thought about it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sissysox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Yummy Tex-Mex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The food here was good - I'm from Houston so I cannot give it a "very good" rating. But if you are craving Mexican food and some decent chips/salsa... this place will do it. The service was pretty good too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank YoostonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Food was really good. Good chili rellano. Not too big. Homemade style rice. You need a little patience with the wait staff.

Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cueva de Leon also viewed

 

Been to Cueva de Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing