We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Fort Davis”
Review of Harvard Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harvard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here in October this year. Great rooms, very clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Shame there is no bar or restaurant as Fort Davis only has one bar across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flecknfleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Harvard Hotel at the end of September. This is a good hotel, and priced right, for those who don't spend a lot of time in their room, and don't care about rocking chairs, lazy and relaxed tea times, or historical ambience. There are certainly other options in town, but few would match it in value.

Our rooms were quiet, the beds were great, and the rustic space allocated well. I noted a lot of attention paid to the little things. For instance, perhaps every hotel is going to have quirks, so to avoid worries and nagging questions, the owners put little notes in the room or in the elevator to explain the way things worked.

In the lobby, this hotel has hanging some very interesting and unique art. Although I'm not a collector of Western art, I asked questions about the artist and his work. I used their Wifi one time, and it worked just fine, but it was a little balky the next morning.

If the winsome and personable Rick is working at the front desk, you can expect some lively and friendly conversation from him. We enjoyed that.

I actually spoke with two different people at this hotel before I stayed there, and I found everyone to be knowledgeable and efficient. They give good and accurate directions, in a tourist area where the GPS doesn't work that well. The owners didn't hire employees, like the ones we experienced in another town at a visitor's center, who will send you on a road to nowhere. These people will give you a good and fair approximation of the kinds of experiences you will have in the Fort Davis area. Our main experience involved going up to the McDonald Observatory, something we felt well prepared for after speaking with Rick.

Their hotel has lots of in-room amenities, but no breakfast. But don't worry, the Ft. Davis Drug Store, next door, serves good and efficient breakfasts. We were in town during the Mule and Donkey Daze, and they handled everything well, on a morning when we were getting ready to drive home.

Due to a demanding schedule, we did not get to stay long enough in Fort Davis. I hope I can remedy that next time, and on a future visit, take one of the Jeep tours of the Sproul Ranch. The Davis Mountains were absolutely gorgeous, the loveliest spot of our entire trip, and mostly because of the recent rains they had. I must go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TexasTessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The Harvard Hotel is a very comfortable, newly renovated place in Fort a Davis. The room was spacious and bed comfortable. The main dining options in town are next door and across the street.
We were fascinated to find out that the name actually has an association to Harvard University which used to run an observatory out there before UT ran MacDonald Observatory ( A very worthwhile stop if you are in the area!)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Woody59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We decided to have an unconventional summer vacation this year and travel to see parts of Texas we'd never been to before, we were disappointed! We stayed in Ft. Davis, TX at the Harvard Hotel, became locals at the Ft. Davis Drug Store Restaurant and just had a great time! Rick, at the front desk, is a hoot, we had a great time getting to know him! We went to the McDonald Observatory, Big Bend National Park, Marfa and on a jeep tour out at the H.E. Sproul Ranch - (make sure your tour guide is Bob!), and just had a fun, relaxing trip!

The Harvard Hotel is very nice, clean, the staff is friendly and the hotel is downtown so we enjoyed being able to walk most places in town. The weather, scenery and people are all wonderful in Ft. Davis!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

The only complaints would be a series of somewhat comical maintenance issues addressed with notes instead of service, and the 18" CRT TV.

But the staff was amazingly friendly, and the atmosphere was fun. The location is perfect, right downtown. The beds were comfy, and amenities were available...for a price. Overall very happy.

Would definitely return :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtskyDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

This is a small hotel on Main Street in Fort Davis and I decided to try it because it was 5 dollars cheaper than the Hotel Limpia across the street. The rooms at the Harvard Hotel are newer and larger than the Limpia's -- which is old and historic. So, if you're looking for antique furnishings and such the Limpia is a better choice, but choose the Harvard if you'd rather have a larger bed, newer and larger bathroom and fixtures etc.
The manager was very nice and takes a personal interest in your stay. I suspect he is also the owner or part-owner because of his interest and attitude.
Oh, and the wifi works fine.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Positive, pleasant receptionist. Almost new facility, well kept. Clean comfortable rooms with lots of western character. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
20.4 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
285 reviews
21.2 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Hotel

Address: 109 State Street, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Hotel, and should be listed under hotels please. Thank you, Tammy Alvarado Manager ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harvard Hotel Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing