We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sproul Ranch is a great place to unwind and relax!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harvard Lodge at Sproul Ranch
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Sproul Ranch is a great place to relax. We stayed for the Memorial Day Weekend traveling with two other couples. Even though all 6 suites were occupied the owners made us feel at home. The pool and jacuzzi area is breathtaking with the waterfall overlooking the expansive view of the ranch property. We used the great BBQ and bar area by the pool to prepare our dinner. The rooms were great very comfortable with a ranch style decor complete with refrigerators and microwaves. We are looking forward to visiting again soon it is a great place to go to unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel was great! We were in Fort Davis for 4 nights. We had booked all 4 nights at The Lympia Hotel a few weeks before our arrival. Upon check in and seeing our room we were very unhappy with The Lympia. We checked out and asked for a referral. One of the hotels they referred us to was The Harvard Hotel & Lodge. We went over to the Harvard (across the street from The Lympia) and the person at the front desk (Bo) checked availability (thankfully they had a room) and was happy to show us a couple of different rooms they offer. She checked us in right away and could not have been more helpful, friendly, and sympathetic to our situation. The rooms were very clean and in great condition! Very nice surprise for a hotel in the middle of a small West Texas town. We liked it so much, that after 3 nights there we booked a 5th night! All of the staff were so friendly and eager to please. On the weekend, Rick was on duty and gave us so much information about hiking and area attractions, etc. He and Bo were wonderful! We left our laptop computer in our room when we checked out. Bo called us as soon as she found it (unfortunately our phone signals were in and out on the way home and we did not know she had called or left a message until we got to back to Houston). We called her back and the next day she took the laptop to the post office, had it wrapped properly and shipped in to us. She sent us copies of all the paperwork and tracking information. She went above and beyond her duties to help us out! We totally recommend this hotel to everyone! They also have rentals at their ranch. We would love to try those sometime also. We were very pleased with their pricing! Very reasonable!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller King room and also in the bigger King suite with a balcony. They were both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdDi4862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We spent several days at Sproul Ranch because we wanted a relaxing getaway. Our stay was perfect! One morning,we booked a jeep tour and it was incredible. Mason was an excellent tour guide. I've lived in Texas my whole life, and I've never seen views as beautiful as the ones we saw that morning. We saw mule deer, antelope,and javelina. It was fascinating. The pool area was lovely and very peaceful. We also took advantage of the skeet shooting and the driving range, as well. It was great fun. But my absolute favorite part of the day was sitting in one of the rocking chairs and witnessing the absolutley spectacular West Texas sunsets! The staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Bo, Wes, and Mason were wonderful! Our was room was very comfortable and extremely clean. I can't wait to bring our entire family back to Sproul Ranch!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Looking for an off-the-beaten track start to a trip to the Davis Mountains and beyond, we started here. We chose this ranch, located ~7mi from downtown Ft. Davis - 5mi of paved road, 2 of good gravel/dirt (n.b. navigable in standard sedan, even in middle of the dark night). Stayed in one of the 5 or 6 lodge rooms, which included a fun bunkbed for the kids. Great location to get to McDonald Observatory and State Park nearby --- highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

As a last minute change in plans for a class trip to Big Bend, we quickly and successfully booked the entire ranch to house 24 people for 2 nights. Bo was very friendly and helpful in arranging the reservations on short notice. The Ranch was gorgeous and comfortable. Wesley came by to check on us and see if we needed anything. I will definitely be booking here in the future for class trips and family vacations. A true desert oasis!!! Thanks so much!!

Room Tip: All suites are nice, sleep up to 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmasau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We travel through Ft. Davis on occasion and this time we wanted to try something different so we booked a room at the Harvard Ranch Suites. It is part of the Harvard Lodge (downtown) but the Ranch Suites on on their working ranch a few miles outside of town, near the State Park and near Prude Ranch. We enjoyed our stay. The property itself is beautiful, as is much of the surrounding Ft. Davis area. For the Ranch Suites you still must check-in and pick up keys at the downtown hotel and drive the 15 minutes or so out to the ranch. Be aware that Sproul Road leading there is a county maintained dirt road for about 2 miles off the main highway. It was a bit washboardy so small cars would need to go super slow. The suites at the ranch were quite nice. There are six rooms and a separate cabin. The cabin has a full kitchen. The few buildings on the grounds are clustered near each other. There is the small building with the six hotel rooms, the pool and hot tub, the clubhouse, a skeet range, a dog kennel, a nice spacious party pavilion, and some other private buildings such as the ranch keepers house, the walk-in game freezer, etc. Everything was very clean and tidy considering its a working ranch. It was very quiet. Almost no other guests and we never saw the workers. Our suite was a nice western themed hotel room with a king bed, mini-fridge, microwave, 20" TV with Direct TV, walk - in shower (very hot water), leather couch, tile floor, quality king bed. The room itself was spacious and clean. It is what I expected. They call it luxury, but it is actually just a nice normal room. (kinda like what you would expect at a nice Hampton or Holiday Inn Exp). They said they had wireless but we did not use it. Everything is western themed - dark paneled wood, rough hewn looking. For those coming you should bring drinks, snacks, etc. as there is nothing near by. It is quiet. The night sky would be great. There was no cell phone service but there is a pay phone available. We did use the hot tub and it was nice, but we had to uncover it ourselves. They say to use the "pool towels" but there were none to be found and no information on where to get them. While we liked our quiet stay outside of town it may not be for everyone. We walked a bit, but there were really no trails or any information on where one could or could not hike or bike. Some things to note include: its outside of town on a dirt road, the small lake they advertise is completely dried up due to the severe drought, they do have sodas and snacks in your room but are way over priced ($3.50 per soda, $2.50 for candy - so bring your own), nice Proterra soaps/shampoo, there is no deadbolt or extra secure lock on the interior, they say they have a fitness room but it is $15.00 extra per person per day which is way too much, the skeet and driving range look nice but we never saw a single person there so one would have to go knock on the ranch managers home to get assistance, the AC/heater worked fine but was a bit noisy in the room, there is a giant NASA type array telescope very closeby (maybe 200 yards from the rooms) and it is huge (82' wide, 10 stories high) and it has a generator that keeps it turning which is a bit noisy. While the noise is not extreme, it is always there in the background. Some folks would find it "interesting and neat" while others might find it a blight on the landscape. The rooms are immediately adjacent to the pasture and stalls, so it was fun watching the horses and donkeys come and go for feeding time, but some folks might be put off by the smell and or the closeness. Remember its a Texas Ranch. For couples that are not into the western genre this may not be the place. While there really was not much going, on this place would be great for events if you were to book the entire place. It appears they could do very well catering a western themed wedding or conference. We could look into the conference room / dining hall next to the pool and it looked very nice. Nice looking bar, big grills, huge smokers, etc. But one must love the Texas and western theme as it is decorated with deer, bull, and elk heads, stuffed mountain lions, etc. They also give jeep tours of the ranch but do not offer any horseback riding (too bad - that would be what I would want). They also offer pricey all inclusive big game hunts (some by horseback) for elk, deer, lion, etc. For a bunch of men what want to splurge on the big hunt, this place would be quite nice. Overall, we had a good time and would go back. We might want to go in a warmer season so we could enjoy the pool.

Room Tip: King room, facing north as the windows provide a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I would like to begin by saying this is a great property and a lovely place to stay. My husband and I went with our two teenage boys for a long weekend get away and to visit attractions in the area. The problem is with the person booking the lodge. We were told that the lodge is great for all ages, that our boys will love the skeet shooting, hot tub, the game room with pool table and the weight room. The only thing that our boys were able to do was skeet shooting while at the ranch. The hot tub was never open, and the one night that we asked to use the pool table we were told that guests are not allowed to use it, that it is for parties only. That evening the gentleman that oversees the ranch obviously had a double date situation going on. Himself, a friend, and two women were using the pool table room quite late. We went there about two years ago, so as you can see I still have ill feelings about it. Whoever is booking for the lodge needs to tell people that the amenities on the ranch may not be available to the guests. This is very misleading information and needs to be corrected by the owners. The only reason I rated the property at a poor rating is because of the misleading information that was given to us when booking the room.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm what will be available to you while staing at the ranch and get it in writing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lori m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
22.9 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
261 reviews
24.8 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
64 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Hotel Limpia
The Hotel Limpia
#5 of 7 in Fort Davis
191 reviews
4.5 mi away
Davis Mountains Inn
Davis Mountains Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Davis
88 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fort Davis Inn And Rv Park
Fort Davis Inn And Rv Park
#8 of 9 in Fort Davis
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvard Lodge at Sproul Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvard Lodge at Sproul Ranch

Address: 1900 Sproul Road, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Fort Davis
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Ranch with hotel rooms. Please list it under Hotel/Motels. Thank you, Tammy Alvarado Manager ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harvard Lodge At Sproul Ranch Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing