We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last a hotel with some charm!”
Review of The Hotel Limpia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Limpia
Ranked #5 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“At last a hotel with some charm!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Drove from New York to Los Angeles, staying at the Hotel was one of our best experiences. Had a ground floor two bedroom self contained unit, everything worked, comfortable bed, Wi-Fi worked well. Loved the lounge & only complaint was that we could not stay for another night!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantinport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    48
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
51
72
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First, will the owner of the Hotel Limpia please place new pillows in Room 8? The current ones have an odor.
With that out of the way,
Good: Cool, old hotel in Ft. Davis. Great location. Wonderful size rooms. Our room had a complete kitchen. Managers and restaurant staff were A+.
Bad: Sure wish owner would spring some money for décor. Plastic flowers and poor quality used furniture take away from the undeniable charm of the hotel. A little attention to detail would go a very long way. The hotel has good staff, but the overall property seems neglected by the owner. What a shame!
Ugly: The bedding. The mattress in Room 8 is gone. Both the mattress and the pillows should have been thrown out long ago.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a large accommodating suite. It has a full kitchen. If the hotel replaces the bedding, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at The Hotel Limpia, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We thank the guest for their positive comments about the hotel Limpia. I apologize for the condition of the bed pillows. I have instructed my staff to check into this immediately and change out the pillows. We purchased the Hotel Limpia less than two years ago and have been upgrading the hotel as quickly as possible after years of deferred maintenance by the previous owners. We hope that the guest will return again in the future and enjoy the constant improvements that we are making to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great old building and nice amenities. Unfortunately the restaurant there REALLY sucks! Had a group of twenty, called and talked to the hotel owner personally to tell him when our group was coming. We were basically the only people there that night and the service was horrible. After waiting over 45 mins for a bottle of wine we cancelled it as we had placed our food order 30 minutes prior and didn't have time now to enjoy it. Waited an hour and fifteen minutes for our food only o be served luke warm and dried out meals. The restaurant owner just made excuses for the bad service and even said it was our fault at one time for not telling him we were coming, which was an absolute lie. Tables old get served one entree t a time while everyone else waiting for their meals. It was the worst service I have ever encountered. The owner has no clue how to run a restaurant or treat his customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at The Hotel Limpia, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We would like to thank the guest for their positive comments about the Hotel Limpia. Their comments on their experience at the restaurant, however, are inaccurate. This person was part of a group of 22 who were staying at the hotel. The group leader approached me (the owner) at the restaurant at 5:30 pm asking to confirm a reservation for a group for that evening. Unfortunately, this person confused a vague phone inquiry several months ago with a reservation. However, we told the leader that we would accommodate their group, but that we do not typically seat 22 persons at the same time in our small restaurant unless there is a set menu or choices have been made previously. As a result, we told her that we would not be able to provide quick service and that her group would likely have to wait some time to be served. She assured me that this would not be a problem. The group arrived and were seated promptly at five different tables. This reviewer was accurate about the lost order for the wine, for which we apologized. However, the other comments are grossly exaggerated as to serving time. He was the only person at the table who did not enjoy his food and refused our offer to prepare another dish for him. Additionally, he was exceptionally rude to our waiter and to me personally as he left the restaurant complaining loudly about his experience as he walked through the dining room. As far as I could determine, the other members of this group enjoyed their dinner. In fact. one person was kind enough to apologize about the reviewer's behavior the next morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spouse and I stayed for 1 night as part of a small tour group on our way to Big Bend National Park. This is a quant, old hotel with spacious rooms, nicely and comfortably furnished. Ours was on 2nd floor of main building. Hotel provides a very homey atmosphere and is right in the center of Fort Davis. Ate dinner in the hotel restaurant (The Bistro) – it was fine – service a little slow, but food fine. Had lunch and breakfast across the street at the “drugstore”, that was quite good. Not much to say except all was adequate, staff person – Janis, I think- most helpful and friendly. I would certainly stay here again if in Ft. Davis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I like old charm. Felt comfortable here. Stayed in the old, main building upstairs. Squeaky floors. Wish the ceiling fan had more than one speed. Nicely central location. Not cheap, though.
The black cat with white paws ("Tuxedo") adds a comfortable, home feel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horseshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield TX USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

In September, we sent two night at the Hotel Limpia. It was wonderful. The room were large with an old fashion feel. It was peaceful and friendly. The price was also very nice. We spent some of our time on the balcony, rocking in the chairs and watching the locals in their daily lives.The folks at Ft. Davis were pleasant and helpful with our needs. We would stay there again.
The Barclays, from Mansfield, TX

Room Tip: We traveled with our friends and we stayed in rooms 20 & 21. These rooms were next to the upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Barclays0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

OK hotel but run down and not taken care of. We were advised to make a reservation at the Bistro nest to the Hotel and run by the Hotel Owner. We arrived fifteen minutes early, and our table was not ready for 45 minutes after our appointed time. The Matre D was rude and unorganized. With in minutes of being seated the Manager/Matre D had words with a man at another table. He brought him his salad a few minutes later and slammed it down on the table. My adult daughter commented that she thought he was on drugs. Our food arrived cold and bland, we were not surprised. My advise from cocktails, appetizers to food stay away.

Room Tip: Hotel is not as it looks in the pictures. Do not eat at the attached Bistro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debrah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Limpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Limpia

Property: The Hotel Limpia
Address: 101 Memorial Square, Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Limpia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel located in the center of mile high Fort Davis, Texas. The Limpia has welcomed travelers to the Texas Mountains for over 100 years. We offer 31 rooms and suites, swimming pool, Blue Mountain Bar and Bistro, and gift shops. Located near the McDonald Observatory in the Davis Mountains of Far West Texas. Under new ownership as of October 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Limpia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Limpia Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing