We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of 19 International B&B's this is the best one ever,No dought..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I will stay here every time i go to Ft Davis for sure.You cant miss.Large rooms and bath,every thing works and very old and keep up

Room Tip: all are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quickdraw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

My husband and I brought our children and grandchildren to the Veranda Hotel during spring break. The rooms were beautiful, interesting, and comfortable. The food was delicious, the owners were helpful...I can't say enough wonderful things about The Vernanda Hotel! Absolute perfection!
Martha and Ken Miller

Room Tip: They are equal...all warm and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMillerFamily099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I am not a big fan of the intimacy of B&B's. The Veranda has the advantage of once being a hotel so one has separation from fellow guests. This in combination with the fact that there are 2,200 people in the entire county where the Veranda is located made it a perfect escape. On the practical side, the entire facility was spotless, the breakfasts were excellent, and David-the owner-is attentive but unobtrusive. The only downside is the $5.00 charge to pet the pig (a small joke).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We were looking for a nice quiet place to spend a few days. This B&B was the ideal place. The bed was very comfortable. The food every day was healthy and delicious. But if you don't like what they cook, they'll cook what you like. Dave and Eleanor encourage everyone to ask for what you need or want. I seldom give any place excelent ratings across the board, but for what we were looking for, The Veranda was excellent in every way. The B&B was ideally located for viewing the Fort and the Obseratory as well as the points of interest in Alpine and Marfa. Dave works very hard to make everyone's stay perfect if possible

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and comforable. We liked #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borger_TXBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This was one of the nicest b&bs I’ve stayed in. Its unprepossessing exterior and location in a dusty little town hardly prepare one for the spacious and refined interior, with polished wood floors and nice furniture everywhere; everything was clean and comfortable, the owner was pleasant but unobtrusive, and there was a good pancake breakfast the next morning.
Fort Davis itself is also well worth a visit, although it's hard to see why the rest of the town has a place in the “America’s Most Charming Towns and Villages” book - aside from a curiously oversized county courthouse, it looks more western-scruffy than charming (in the conventional sense). And while I can see why the fort that gave the town its name was named for Secretary of War Jefferson Davis, it came as an unpleasant jolt to find that the county itself still carries the name of a defender of the indefensible (slavery) who should have been hanged for treason. Still, for anyone looking to break the long trip across Texas on either I 10 or US 90, Fort Davis (and state route 116 through the Davis Mountains) are probably the best bet - thanks to this b&b, the well-restored fort, and the reasonably good dining at the Limpia Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Rather nondescript from the outside, you get a wonderful surprise when you step inside The Veranda. High ceilings, airy large rooms, beautiful wooden floors, attractive area rugs and lots of antique furniture adorn this nicely decorated Bed and Breakfast. An unusual feature is that many of the rooms have a sitting room, all filled with beautiful antique furniture. David, the host, is very friendly and helpful. However, attention is needed in some areas: The bathrooms are a little tired and could do with updating. The shower head in our bathroom for instance needed some urgent descaling, as the water was shooting out of only a few of the holes. The toilet was leaking. The complimentary toiletries tray contained a half-empty shampoo bottle. The liquid soap dispenser was dirty. As for breakfast... My friends and I would have preferred more choice, including a somewhat healthier fare. I understand that B&B's like to distinguish themselves from hotels and motels, but there is a better way of doing this. We were not asked about dietary preferences or likes and dislikes. The plates we were served (they vary each day) were not particularly well executed. Most of us left a lot of food on our plates and left the table hungry and disappointed. We would suggest an a la carte menu, even if the guests are asked to make their choices the night before. Considering the prices charged for a night's stay, I expected a little more!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
794, Owner at VERANDA HISTORIC INN, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

We appreciate the guest taking the time to write a review. However, we would like to respond to several points: The guest never informed us during their visit about any of their issues with the exception of the running toilet which was repaired within 15 minutes of their arrival at the inn. The shower head has been checked and is operating normally - perhaps the guest is not familiar with water saver shower heads which are common in desert climates. We always replace all amenities in bathrooms - sometimes the vendor does not fill the containers to capacity which may have given the guest the impression that she had a "used" shampoo bottle. We checked the liquid soap dispenser and found that it did indeed have a buildup of dried soap - this has been corrected.
As to breakfast, we always ask our guests if they like what has been served. This occurs shortly after breakfast has been served and also towards the end of the meal. The guest who wrote this review claimed to enjoy their breakfast on both days. We are always prepared to offer alternatives to the featured dish (scrambled eggs, cheese omelet, cereal, toast, etc.) but can only do this if the guest lets us know. In the future, we will have a menu board that indicates alternatives available so that guests know that this is a possibility.
The guest also claimed that they were not given an opportunity to request special meals. Our confirmation letter requests that future guests inform us of any special dietary needs. This statement is in bold print in the confirmation letter. We regret that the guest overlooked this , as we regularly accommodate vegetarian, gluten free, low fat, etc. diets.
We are sorry that the guests were not pleased with their stay. However, we are unable to remedy a situation unless we know about it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We couldn't have been more pleased with The Veranda. Upon checking in, David offered us some homemade peanut butter cookies, showed us where the cold water bottles are kept, and reminded us of the importance of keeping hydrated at Ft. Davis' high altitude. The room and bathroom was spacious, comfortably furnished, and we slept very well. Breakfast was set up by seating times, 8 or 9 am, but the coffee was ready by 7:15 if you needed earlier sustenance. The food was fabulous! One morning we had apple oatmeal pancakes,and the next day was an egg, potato and cheese omelet - all perfect for getting us ready for a day of sightseeing. We also enjoyed meeting our fellow guests, and having pleasant mealtime conversation. The Veranda has a library, with lots of comfy seating and a flatscreen tv - we spent a very pleasant hour or so in this room one evening, reading and catching up on our laptop computer. There is free wireless internet available for guests - maybe not the fastest, but certainly adequate. At checkout, David made sure we left with a bag of those delicious peanut butter cookies! Overall, The Veranda's atmosphere is so welcoming and comfortable, you can't help but feel at home. I look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaley311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
20.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
286 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
21.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
575 reviews
22 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range: £45 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
VERANDA HISTORIC INN Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing