We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veranda Bed & Breakfast Review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My sister and I spent 4 nights at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast in Fort Davis, TX. What a great place. The breakfasts were hearty (no skimping) and a wide variety, including fresh fruit, fresh bakery goods and a main dish. They also provided bottled water throughout the day, home baked cookies and a glass of wine in the afternoon. The rooms were very comfortable and very attractive. We had the end room, which had a separate entrance, which came in handy after the star party at the Observatory -- didn't get back to the room till 11:00 p.m. I would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience for only one night. The bed was soft and the bathroom was very nice. Breakfast was provided the next morning and it was excellent. Highly recommended for a stay in Fort Davis!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I recently had the good fortune to spend 3 nights at The Veranda Historic Inn (first opened for business in 1833) in Ft. Davis, Texas - - a small, slow-paced town in which everything is within walking distance and which seems to be home to a disproportionately high number of artists, intellectuals, and eccentrics. The actual fort, which was established to protect travelers on the San Antonio - El Paso trail from Apache & Cherokee Indians, is well-preserved and well worth a visit. The nearby MacDonald Observatory, situated high in the Davis Mountain Range, is reason enough to spend a night or two in Ft. Davis. If you do, you will find no more comfortable and accommodating place to stay than the Veranda Inn.

David & Ana Schreiber, who left the big-city pace of Dallas and purchased the Veranda a little over two years ago, are excellent hosts. We enjoyed marvelously varied and tasty breakfasts each morning, and found a welcoming platter of cookies or dessert bars upon our return in the afternoons. Having a wake-up coffee (their own blend and superb!) on the veranda of "The Veranda" in the cool of the morning, ensconsed in comfy rocking chairs and visiting with the locals taking their morning constitutionals, was a special treat. Well- appointed, clean, comfortable - - You can do no better. We look forward to returning there!

Room Tip: All the rooms I looked at were great, but we were very pleased with Room 6, in the interior of the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

A great B&B in Ft. Davis. We stayed there for 2 nights in March 2013. The inn is very charming and David was a great host. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great and all of the other guests were very friendly. Overall, it was a great place to stay and we will stay there again at our next visit to Ft. Davis.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The Veranda Inn has been welcoming guests since the early 1900's. Our suite included three separate rooms. It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Warm cookies greeted us upon our arrival. The buffet breakfast was generous and yummy! All the guests enjoy the meal at a large dining room table. The afternoon was spent sipping our wine on the front porch relaxing in the rocking chairs. David and Anna (the innkeepers) also own a very nice restaurant down the street...Blue Mt Bistro. My husband was quite impressed that the wine list included a great pinot noir from Oregon! Other activities included the scenic Davis Mt Loop drive and picnic, the "Star Party" at the McDonald Observatory and touring the historic fort. The Jeff Davis Co Courthouse adds to the ambiance of the cute small town of Fort Davis.

Room Tip: #5 is a corner suite on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Great great great B&B, we had an amazing stay! It was in December '11 (slow foot print in Wintertime) and my husband & I were the only guests and had the whole Inn to ourselves! Our room was neat and clean. The hosts, David & Anna (son & mom), just the nicest people you'll ever meet. They made us delicious fresh, homemade breakfast everyday, snacks were available, for sure, this is one of the nicest places we've stayed in a long time. If you're ever in Fort Knox, TX, please check out this wonderful inn, you will definitely have an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaniM574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmag99, Owner at VERANDA HISTORIC INN, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

We appreciate the guest's kind comments! We are, of course, located in FORT DAVIS, Texas!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Fort Davis with only 1,212 residents has alot to offer the traveler. This B & B has the feel of being dropped into the early 1900's. We had a suite which was very comfortable and well furnished. The breakfast was delicious each day and every afternoon they had a freshly baked snack for us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
20.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
286 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
21.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
575 reviews
22 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range: £45 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
VERANDA HISTORIC INN Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing