We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the veranda B&B in Fort Davis. Since I was by myself, I chose the room with two twin beds. It was charmingly decorated, extremely comfortable and very clean. I had everything I needed for a relaxing stay; the room even had a nice sized refrigerator. The buffet breakfast was good, especially the coffee. All in all the atmosphere was friendly and informal - a good west Texas ambience! The Veranda is in an excellent location - close to the Hotel Limpia (the only place in town with a bar!) and the Fort Davis Drug Store. This was a great base for exploring the area and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for VERANDA HISTORIC INN
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just spent a wonderful July 4th week-end in Ft. Davis, Texas. Stayed at the Historic Veranda Inn. WOW! If you want to relax under the shade of the veranda every morning, eating a scrumptious home-made breakfast, visiting with new friends from all over the state, then this is it!! Four of my family members shared a 2 bedroom suite, brought our own wine for sipping in the evening under the Davis Mountain stars, and loved every minute. The hometown 4th of July parade and people watching was great. David and his staff provided a wonderfully laid back few days..... far from the maddening crowd. Step back in time and enjoy a few days out West. We did and we will go again next year. Our grandkids were at Prude Ranch Camp for 2 weeks, which I also recommend for all the horse-loving city slickers out there!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked pretty nice - antique furnishings, etc. Our room was on the side street, but I...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mhboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A wonderful bed and breakfast experience. Breakfast was delicious and David is a great host. The chef is accommodating for special needs. The decor is very nice without being over done as many B&Bs are.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_barnes5779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Spent three nights in the carriage house which was spacious, quiet and comfortable. This would be a great place for families or couples traveling together. Breakfast was outstanding each morning with the best coffee I've had in years. David and his staff were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TK459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the Veranda for our second time and it was delightful! David has made some good changes keeping the same comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. To our surprise, the Blue Mountain Bistro & Bar (also owned by David) was wonderful! The food was delicious with good presentation. The service impeccable - truly fine dining!

Room Tip: Part of the fun of staying here is the surprise of which room you get - all are good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bulagirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My sister and I spent 4 nights at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast in Fort Davis, TX. What a great place. The breakfasts were hearty (no skimping) and a wide variety, including fresh fruit, fresh bakery goods and a main dish. They also provided bottled water throughout the day, home baked cookies and a glass of wine in the afternoon. The rooms were very comfortable and very attractive. We had the end room, which had a separate entrance, which came in handy after the star party at the Observatory -- didn't get back to the room till 11:00 p.m. I would highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience for only one night. The bed was soft and the bathroom was very nice. Breakfast was provided the next morning and it was excellent. Highly recommended for a stay in Fort Davis!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
20.7 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
251 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
409 reviews
21.3 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#2 of 13 in Alpine
550 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
62 reviews
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range: £44 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
VERANDA HISTORIC INN Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing