We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our first trip to Fort Davis and it was amazing! Called ahead on a Friday night as we left earlier than anticipated and asked if our room was available for another night! No problem, left the lights on for us! For 130 year old Inn it is in great shape, 12 foot ceilings, wood floors, our room had mostly antique items from 100 years ago. Breakfast is from 8-9:30 and was very good and lots of coffee and tea. 1 TV in the lounge, but who needs it here anyway. Even had a biker convention going on while we where there and it was still extremely quiet. We will be back when we get another chance for sure! Great Home base if you are visiting, Big Bend National Park, Big Bend Ranch State Park, McDonald Observatory, Fort Davis National Historic Site, Cities of Alpine and Marfa........too many things to see in a weekend! (Our only negative on this trip was the Government Shutdown!) Checked out the Terlingua, TX cemetery, kind of creepy, but different! If you are are GeoCache Freak like my wife, you will have a great time also!

Room Tip: Room 8 is Huge! Separate Bath, Separate Sitting Area room and Bedroom has King Sized Bed. Faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rowdie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    36
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
134
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Great little place. Quiet and restful. Each room is unique and furnished with antiques. Front porch is a fabulous spot for an afternoon nap or quiet conversation with other travelers. David the owner is nice and knowledgable about the surrounding area. Just ask and he will give you suggestions for things to do. There is only 1 TV in the place (I find that to be a plus) but a large store of books and magazines. Wifi throughout if you absolutely must stay in tough. However, I suggest you put the rat race aside and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Fort Davis is like no other place in Texas so take advantage of it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We enjoyed an excellent weekend at The Veranda on our first trip to Fort Davis. The lovely house itself is welcoming and warm - comfortable old fashioned decor, rocking chairs to settle into on the front porch, nice open seating areas for gathering or just reading a book, and great breakfasts and afternoon goodies! Our room was also comfortable, clean, large, and - very importantly - quiet! Bathroom amenities were ample and thoughtful...especially with good towels, a large mirror, and good lighting. There was a small frig for keeping our picnic items cold which was very handy since we spent lots of time sightseeing along the scenic loop! We have nothing but good things to say about our stay here at The Veranda. Fort Davis is a long way to travel combined with all the day trip travelling, too, and we couldn't have been happier with this lovely "home base" to go back to at the end of each day!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suitcase207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our second stay at the wonderful Veranda Inn in Ft Davis and it didn't disappoint again. Honestly, this might be one of my favorite B&B's. The website accurately portrays all the rooms and cottage so pick what works best for you. We have stayed in rooms 5 & 8 which are king suites in the front (street side) of the Inn. Ft Davis is small and very quiet. A few trucks go by at 7 a.m. 'rush' hour so noise is not a problem! The rooms are furnished with antiques and, yes, as another poster stated, there are some older bathroom fixtures, etc but I find that all to be part of the character of staying in a 130+/- year old building in West Texas. I have to assume that most people are much more interested in soaking up the peace and quiet and beauty of the area otherwise they wouldn't make the long trip.
Breakfast is always good and David, the innkeeper, will cater to any special food needs if you call ahead. The Inn is close to several attractions and great hiking.
If you go, don't forget to spend some time rocking on the veranda!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kec39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent one night at the Veranda and it was outstanding! Comfortable, historic room and welcoming staff. We enjoyed everything about our visit to Fort Davis and The Veranda was icing on the cake. Also, I managed to leave my Ipad in the room and was too far away before they called to tell me they had it. If I left anything in a cookie cutter, chain hotel, it would be gone forever. Instead, it was waiting for me when I got home. Nice, honest people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, In
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Only stayed one night on the way to Big Bend, but will stay longer next time. Beautiful building over 100 years old. Close to several area attractions, like McDonald Observatory, old Fort Davis, and Chihuahuan Desert Nature Center. Eleanor the cook made us a fantastic breakfast and was very friendly. The is even a pet potbelly pig on the premises (in a pen so he won't get into trouble) named Tipster. Met the owner David briefly and he was super nice. Pretty gardens on the grounds. You can walk to the "downtown" area it's just a couple of blocks to many interesting stores. We recommend this place to all!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Garden Cottage so can't comment on the regular rooms. It wasn't real large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrel8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent 2 nights in suite 4 and enjoyed the relaxing nature of the inn. Nice to not have a TV in the room since it keeps the family wanting to get out and do something during the day. Loved the conversation and breakfast with people from all over. David made sure everyone was satisfied the whole time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.6 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
21.3 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
21.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
20.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Property: VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
VERANDA HISTORIC INN Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing