We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place - but the Garden Cottage is tiny”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Davis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Ranked #2 of 7 Fort Davis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very private, but the rooms are fewer than before a recent remodel. Still - if you can get a room in the main inn (house) it's well worth it. I miss the larger common living room, but the historic house helps make up for that with its thick, thick walls. If you would like the most romantic and antique B&B in Fort Davis, you've found it here.

Room Tip: Garden Cottage is cozy - tight fit - for two. Best for a romantic couple or someone staying alone w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuroAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at VERANDA HISTORIC INN, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience at the Veranda. I am sorry that you were not happy with the size of the Garden Cottage - we would have tried to move you to a different room if we had known! By the way, the room description for the Garden Cottage does specify that it is "cozy, snug" and is 210 square feet. It is actually one of our most popular rooms due to the extra privacy and great views of Sleeping Lion Mountain from the private porch. We hope you will come back and book one of our 550 square foot suites next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here during a visit to the McDonald Observatory and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. This is an original hotel from the late 1800's furnished nicely. It is run as a b&b. The owner and staff were superb, especially the wonderful woman that fixed our breakfast each morning. If you are looking for a quiet place, this isn't it, as you can hear your neighbors and movement in the hallway. But if you want to experience history, don't pass up a stay. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the road as the road gets busy about 7:30 with traffic to the scho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rw15048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I'm not normally a big B&B fan. I prefer a little anonymity when traveling, but this is not like staying in someone's house. This is more a small historic hotel with great breakfast included. Plus, the breakfast conversation was a great plus: meeting other travelers, sharing notes, talking with the owner, etc. Not to mention a friendly pig. What more could you ask for?

This is really is a great place to stay. A perfect match for this cool little town in the high desert with such a unique vibe. We did a lot of hiking, driving, but left time for reading in one of the porch rocking chairs. Slow down and enjoy it: you'll be glad you did.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank longhorn77079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in room eight with our seven-year old daughter and loved it. This room had an extra room with sofa, dining table and chairs and mini fridge - my daughter slept on a rollaway in this room and we slept in a King in the bedroom portion of the suite.

Breakfast on our first morning consisted of French toast with maple syrup, fresh fruit, lemon poppyseed muffins, ham, sausage and yogurt. The second day, we were served two types of breakfast burritos, coffee cake, yogurt and fruit. There was always a bottomless pot of coffee as well as fruit juices, tea and milk. After hours, there was self-serve coffee and a fridge full of bottled water - cookies and brownies were served in the afternoon.

Beds and pillows were quite comfortable and the room was quiet and felt private. We will definitely be back.

McDonald Observatory is a twenty minute drive, Marfa lights were about a twenty minute drive as well. It was about two hours to Big Bend. It was the perfect location for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plano_TXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The room was lovely, the breakfast was wonderful, the staff adorable, coupled with clean and quiet. We loved the decor, the location and the overall experience. The entry would be better for handicapped or in need folks if there were a handicap parking spot, and if the hand rails and passage way associated with those hand rails offered clear passage. I say it because most of West Texas seems sloppy and uncaring in this area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suspect309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were impressed by our welcoming host and the historical beauty of the building and decor. We found the inn to be quiet and comfortable. An excellent restaurant was within easy walking distance while great coffee and a tasty breakfast were awaiting us in the hotel dining room in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here to attend the Star Party at the McDonald Observatory. Upon arrival there were delicious fresh homemade peanut butter cookies and coffee or tea. We stayed in room 9 that is at the end of the hall and has a king bed, a little cove area for a small dining table, and ensuite bath with shower. The bed room was lovely with antiques.
Everything was very clean and the sheets and pillows were very nice. There were plenty of toiletries and soft towels.
The breakfast was beautifully arranged with locally roasted coffee, juices, homemade lemon curd muffin, ham and cheese crepe, and fresh fruit.
When we checked out, there was a nice touch also as we were given a little goodie bag to take home with us with some more of those delicious cookies.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Huldah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Davis
21.7 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
423 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
303 reviews
21.4 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
585 reviews
20.7 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
76 reviews
22 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VERANDA HISTORIC INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VERANDA HISTORIC INN

Address: 210 Court Ave., Fort Davis, TX 79734
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Davis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Davis
Price Range: £43 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in mile-high Fort Davis, the Veranda Inn offers accommodations in a unique historic setting. Built in 1883, the Veranda is the oldest hotel in West Texas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
VERANDA HISTORIC INN Fort Davis, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing