We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VERANDA HISTORIC INN
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Value Lodge(Alpine)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Alpine)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
189
39
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
39
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesb bcarriage housewest texasmcdonald observatorysitting roomlovely antiquesother guestsbrownietake homepet pigcoffee cakeft davisbreakfast each morninghigh ceilingsdelicious breakfastbig bend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great amenities, friendly staff, and yummy breakfast. Despite the age of this location (1800s), the quality of the rooms, furniture, and overall location has been well preserved. The rooms are spacious and it's very quite (3 rooms on my hall! Much better than a busy hotel). Loved this one-of-a-kind, vintage BNB.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Veranda in Fort Davis. Our intent was to attend the star party at the McDonald Observatory. Arriving late at night our host accommodated our needs and left a key and instructions for us. Quickly unloading and running off to the observatory after 9 PM we arrived before 10 and found that the clouds were clearing! Great time was had by all of us.

Sleeping accommodations were good with two queen size beds. The breakfast the next morning was a good combinations of french toast, bacon, fresh baked zucchini muffins and breads. Eleanor was our chef and was a great conversationalist as well.

An old hotel from the late 1800's, lots of antiques and charm. Out back a pot bellied pig was a pet of their children and was cute. A great opportunity to enjoy the hospitality and comfort of the weather out here. This was our second stay in Fort Davis and we intend to come back again in the future.

Room Tip: We were in Room #11 which had good accomodations. Great wifi throughout the B&B.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schwartz-Family77096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Veranda Inn is a cute old fashioned home style B&B. The rooms are filled with older styles of furniture though the walls were quite bare and could use more artwork perhaps. Two hummingbird feeders give one occasional views of the nature around.

We emailed the staff trying to get clarifications on how to check in as we were going to be arriving a bit later than usual and heard nothing back after an initial email saying that instructions would be left. It was quite disconcerting that we received NO replies to our email or phone message that we had left. We called the Inn phone number many times (once or twice per hour) over a span for 6 to 7 hours with no response.

The next day after explaining feeling as though the service was less than satisfactory and how we didn't appreciate having no response we were basically told that WE were being rude. The manager said we can just leave and find another place to stay, again horrible service to people who have driven 10 hours to arrive at the city.

Other stuff: the beds are extremely firm. Like rock solid. If you don't find that comfortable find somewhere else to stay. Also, the shower heads are very low, so please consider if you would be bothered by needing to stoop low to shower if you are any taller than 5'8 or so.

A lot of reviews say the breakfast is wonderful. The breakfast for us was 3 small apple based pancakes and one small piece of slice ham along side 10 or so grapes. It was a very small breakfast, not very filling, and clearly not a lot of effort had been put into it. The older lady serving the breakfast was quite friendly though.

Overall: The manager, David, was unreachable by email or call for an entire day, was NOT sincerely apologetic and if anything rude/apathetic. The beds are extremely hard and the shower heads are very low. The rooms have interesting more antique furniture but not particularly cozy. The view of hummingbirds outside of the windows is a treat and the lady that serves the breakfast is kind even if the breakfast wasn't particularly special or filling. If you particularly like being surrounded by older style furniture this place is an option, but if you prefer accessible staff and comfortable beds and showers seek another place. We were comped for the night that we spent, but having to leave to go to yet a different place last minute was an inconvenience that wasted even more time from our trip.

It is my understanding that the Veranda Inn is managed by the same people who own/manage a couple other places including the Limpia Hotel. It seems as though they are overwhelmed and as such not able to be as responsive to other properties.

Room Tip: Room 7 is right across from the hummingbird feeders!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank TXfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at VERANDA HISTORIC INN, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

We are truly sorry that his guest was not satisfied with our service. In all of my years of inn keeping, I have never asked a guest to leave the inn until encountering this person. He simply would not take "yes" for an answer and continued to badger me and my staff about our not answering the phone on the afternoon of his arrival. We had corresponded the day before about the guest's arrival after check in time and he had been given complete and specific instructions about what to do upon arrival. Apparently, this was not sufficient, although our late check in procedure has never failed in over four years of experience. The guest arrived after 6, found their room and key with ease and had moved in. When I returned to the inn around 7:30, I did not feel it necessary to return their ONE phone message left earlier in the afternoon since they had clearly found their room without incident. The comments about breakfast are completely untrue, as we offered both guests second helpings (third in the case of the woman) which were accepted and apparently enjoyed. We did not charge for the first night and made a reservation at another local hotel for them to move to for the second night, as I frankly thought the person mentally unstable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This building is over a hundred years old. You must keep that in mind when booking this inn. The staff was very nice, even sending us off with a bag of sweets. They could use a better shower rod in the bath room. Ours was very rusty and the shower curtain had pink mold at the bottom. It would be nice if they replaced the curtain rod with the new curved type in order to keep the wet curtain off of you as you shower. Also very dusty on the light bulbs and bath room fan. The garden was a disappointment after reading other reviews that seemed to enjoy the garden. Looked overgrown and just was not pretty or relaxing. As I said before this is a very old place and needs some work to replace older up dates that have been done many years ago. Not a good value for the money we spent $160. Fort Davis is a very small town and they have a captive audience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingnonni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Owner at VERANDA HISTORIC INN, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are glad that the guest enjoyed their stay overall and received excellent service from our staff. I was concerned to learn that you found the room less than clean. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the inn and take complaints seriously. I personally inspected the shower on your suite and found that the rod is a little rusty - we will replace it promptly. The shower curtain did have a faint discoloration near the bottom. We typically remove shower curtains for periodic deep cleaning and apparently missed the one in your suite - it has been changed. All curtains are wiped down with disinfectant after each stay. As to dusty light bulbs, I found none. The vent cover had a minimal amount of accumulated dust that has been wiped off. I am sorry that our gardens were not to your taste - this is the desert (not Vermont) and we landscape appropriately for the climate we live in. I am sorry that you missed the abundance of blooming roses, morning glories, agaves, Lantana, etc. that we feel make our grounds special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful for those who love historic places. Extremely clean with great high ceilings, wood floors, antiques in room. The owners are wonderful and a very restful place to stay. Be advised there are no TV's in the rooms but there is one in the common den.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews