We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite "must see" for the Baltimore traveler/native!”

National Aquarium, Baltimore
Ranked #4 of 226 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“A definite "must see" for the Baltimore traveler/native!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I've enjoyed going to the National Aquarium in Baltimore since being a small child and going on school field trips. Throughout the years, the aquarium has had many upgrades and stays an exceptional icon in Baltimore tourism. Having traveled to other major cities in the U.S. and visited their aquariums, Baltimore's is definitely heads-above the rest. While it wouldn't compare to a "theme park" experience (i.e. Sea World), it still surpasses others. The only "downside" we experienced was not being able to take our stroller on our self-guided tour. If the facility had been crowded, it would have made steering our little ones difficult, but without a lot of activity, it was both manageable and enjoyable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lydia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,894
    1,536
    597
    177
    102
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A fun day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The aquarium is in a beautiful location with lots of restaurants and shops surrounding it. It is very clean and the staff is friendly. They have a variety if marine life to see. It's worth the money! It's a little crowded so people need to be respectful and share viewing areas but my friend and I had a good time. We took a little relax break with the 4D theater as well!

Helpful?
Thank JBHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for a rainy day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The National Aquarium is a great activity for a rainy day. I remember when the Aquarium first opened and it was definitely more than a few years ago. They do a great job of keeping it up but it doesn't compare to newer aquariums in the country. The Australia is nice but not a must do, the dolphin show however you should definitely watch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank IAmTSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We came here first thing on a Monday morning in November, so it wasn't at all crowded. But even if it were, it is cleverly designed in such a way as to keep people moving along in one direction.

The staff was all professional and cheerful--from the ticket takers to the scientists. They really seem to love children and love contributing to their education and fun.

Even though there wasn't a dolphin show when we were there, it remains an "open" exhibit, so we could go in and watch a training session, which I actually liked more than aquarium shows that I've seen at SeaWorld.

My only regret was that I hadn't called far enough in advance to get tickets for the early morning dolphin encounter.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank javl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fantasy Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The National Aquarium in Baltimore is a "must visit" venue! It's totally amazing how close we can get to those undersea creatures that we can often only see on t.v. or in movies. Getting so close to the sharks, sting rays, dolphins, etc is quite an experience and actually brings a note of reality to children who have only seen them in books and on t.v. I personally LOVE the rainforest and really looked forward to taking my class there when I was teaching this unit! Baltimore's Harbor has a lot to offer visitors as well as those of us that make MD our home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank caroledavesofiezoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Aquarium, Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium, Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing