We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the same great place just no more dolphin show :-(”
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #4 of 231 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 17,000 animals from more than 750 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Somerdale, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the same great place just no more dolphin show :-(”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

They no longer have a dolphin show and that was disappointing. I still love the aquarium though and my kids enjoyed it as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,052
    1,616
    620
    183
    105
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beatiful Aquarium”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The aquarium is absolutely beautiful! Extremely clean and bright. The way everything is displayed is gorgeous. The grandchildren loved it. We grandparent loved it just as much!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank huskies386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must see in Baltimore”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fantastic exhibits and shows. A must see in Baltimore for visitors of all ages. Plan to spend the day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajleibman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nat'l Aquarium-Baltimore”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great aquarium with moderate prices. I actually expected higher prices being in Baltimore but $35 isn's bad considering the extent of their collections and displays. Watching the archer fish being fed is also a must- we all enjoyed that! The 4D movie experience is also not to be missed! It's definitely crowded in the summer so if that's when you are planning on going, get there right when it opens. The crowds really started picking up closer to 11:30-noonish and we were there on the 4th of July weekend. Overall, we would highly recommend just remember it is in the heart of tourist area so food will be overpriced for mediocre food in the surrounding areas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 - 3 hours here with my 14 and 15 year old girls. We started with Sponge Bob in 4D which was absolutely brilliant, had us all laughing out loud. It was only 10 minutes long but so funny.
We then did a complete tour of the aquarium. I can't say we spent ages reading everything but we looked into all the tanks. Loved the set up of the Blacktop Shark Reef. Walking down the middle of the tank was a really unusual set up and made this aquarium different from others we'd seen.
Our favourite part was the jellyfish. They were brilliant. The dolphin tank was poor - apparently they don't do shows anymore but you might be lucky enough to catch an unadvertised training session.
I'd definitely recommend a visit. It wasn't cheap, but you know that before you start!

Helpful?
Thank mi1by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing