We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Visit”

Port Discovery Children's Museum
Ranked #36 of 245 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Port Discovery Children’s Museum is ranked among the top 5 children’s museums in the United States! (Child Magazine)Port Discovery offers three floors of interactive, educational exhibits and ever-changing programs for children ages birth through 10. Toddle and crawl through Tot Trails. Get healthy and fit in Kick It Up!. Splish splash in Wonders of Water. Shop and pump gas at the Royal Farms Convenience Store and Fill’er Up Station. Cook and serve food in Tiny’s Diner or climb and slide through KidWorks, a 3-story urban treehouse.Port Discovery Children's Museum hosts educational programs, special events, and special exhibits, including the upcoming Nickelodeon's Dora & Diego - Let's Explore! exhibit, coming to the Museum September 16thm 2017 through February 19, 2018.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My son is 18 months old and we took him to Port Discovery today. On Tuesday and Thursday afternoons they currently have a special for $8 per person (under 2 free). Great deal, not sure how long it will last.

He loved the toddler area. Great for kids under 3. Has several parts, from the tidal wave area (mats and some toys), sand dunes to walk over, sand box to play in, and also a forest area to run around and hide. He even liked playing with the butterfly nets trying to catch the flying butterflies as they fell from the fan.

The water room was okay. The big bubble machine didn't work. Did not seem to have enough mix in it. They offer coats and crocs for the kids to put on. Even though he had the jacket on we ended up changing his clothes. He was soaked. He loves water so this room was a hit.

Overall I would recommend this for any child from 1 - 12. They have something for all those ages. Next time I am in Baltimore I will put it on the must visit list. I am sure he will love even more attractions when he is older.

1  Thank nicemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that you and your son enjoyed your visit. We look forward to being a part of your memories for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"water room"
in 31 reviews
"climbing structure"
in 29 reviews
"jungle gym"
in 17 reviews
"water works"
in 11 reviews
"all ages"
in 33 reviews
"older kids"
in 18 reviews
"water play"
in 7 reviews
"change of clothes"
in 7 reviews
"art room"
in 5 reviews
"bring extra clothes"
in 4 reviews
"toddler area"
in 4 reviews
"parking validation"
in 4 reviews
"royal farms"
in 7 reviews
"great place for kids"
in 11 reviews
"year olds"
in 13 reviews
"different areas"
in 10 reviews
"pack a lunch"
in 5 reviews
Filter

197 - 201 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took 3 of my grandchildren to this museum and they absolutely loved it. I use to take my daughter here also who is now 23 years old. This is a family tradition for us. The experience of this museum is top notch. I highly recommend it. My daughter also had a 12 year birthday party here.....talk about FUN!!!! Just cannot say enough, a little pricey but no more than anywhere else.

GREAT,GREAT,GREAT!!!!

Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Please be sure to visit our website to learn about our special discounts and discounted days. We hope that you will join us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I took my grand daughter and a friend of hers recently to Port Discovery. Compared to the other Baltimore attractions, this one is a super deal. The price is great, you get a great parking discount, and if you want to, you can leave for lunch at one of the great places within a few minutes walk and return without having to pay again. There are tons of activities for kids of all ages up to maybe 10 or so. Bring dry clothes though if your kids love water! There's a whole room of water exploration, but I don't think anyone comes out of there dry!
This is a particularly great place to go if the kids have been cooped up from snow/ rain/ cold weather or too hot weather. They should be exhausted by the time you leave and may even go to bed early for you.
Have fun!

1  Thank barb a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so thrilled that you had a chance to explore the museum and enjoyed your time here. Come back soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The kids, aged 4-7, had a great time running around and climbing in the amazing "urban treehouse." Some of the permanent exhibits were aimed at very young kids (4 and under), although there was definitely enough to keep the older ones happy. Just one caution - the urban treehouse is big and has exits on each floor so it's impossible to keep an eye on the kids and hard to track them through the maze unless you follow them around or place parents at each exit. I'm not usually so paranoid, however this was especially unnerving since the main door was manned by only one person who did not check all wristbands of kids and adults who were leaving the premises.

1  Thank pirategirlross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. While concerns about the safety of your child in any public space are understandable, we can assure you that our Security staff checks the wristbands of each guest. If you have questions about the process, please contact mruthke@portdiscovery.org for more information. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Amazing discovery museum!
Staff super nice.
Negative aspect: too crowded, management should have a limited number of visitors.

Thank eldag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your response! Our museum can get crowded on high volume days like STEM in Spring and others but we invite you to contact our Guest Services Director at mruthke@portdiscovery.org before your visit for museum capacity information. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Discovery Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Port Discovery Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing