We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Love This Place”

Port Discovery Children's Museum
Ranked #29 of 245 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Port Discovery Children’s Museum is ranked among the top 5 children’s museums in the United States! (Child Magazine)Port Discovery offers three floors of interactive, educational exhibits and ever-changing programs for children ages birth through 10. Toddle and crawl through Tot Trails. Get healthy and fit in Kick It Up!. Splish splash in Wonders of Water. Shop and pump gas at the Royal Farms Convenience Store and Fill’er Up Station. Cook and serve food in Tiny’s Diner or climb and slide through KidWorks, a 3-story urban treehouse.Port Discovery Children's Museum hosts educational programs, special events, and special exhibits, including the upcoming Nickelodeon's Dora & Diego - Let's Explore! exhibit, coming to the Museum September 16thm 2017 through February 19, 2018.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We took our 4 year old granddaughter to PD on a Saturday AM. I expected it to be crazy - but not so much. Eve loved the exhibits and was not happy about leaving. We will take her back next time she is in town and stay all day.

Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you and your granddaughter enjoyed your visit. Saturday mornings (and Sundays at noon) when we first open are a great time to visit if you want a "quieter" experience, especially during the summer months. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 191 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My kids are 7 and 9 and really enjoyed it. However, some 9 year olds might be too old for this museum--many activities do seem geared to toddler/pre-school. Climbing structure in the middle of the museum a big hit. Parents beware--different trails in the climbing structure have age recommendations. Adhere to them. Watched a crisis unfold when a 4 y/o tried to navigate the older kid trail and couldn't--caused a huge log jam and many tears.

1  Thank mmg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscovery, Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that your children enjoyed their visit and we appreciate your recommendation for parents to adhere to the trail recommendations for KidWorks. Though many of our exhibits do appeal to a younger audience, we recommend for guests with older children to explore KidWorks, our climbing structure, Miss Perception's Mystery House, Adventure Expeditions, and the Kick It Up soccer field. We also offer a variety of performances and programs that change daily. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Is a safe place to bring your little ones, the staff very nice, a lot of activities, they are very carefully with the kids getting out with the care takers. If you have small kids avoid the activity that is at the entrance, is can get messy with the little ones, they have difference activities for toddles, and bring a swimming suit, they have a water activity that is very cool but the kids will get super wet at the first minute they get there. you can bring your own food and spend the day there, the kids will have a great time, if your kid is kind of a shy, avoid the school day, i think is on thursdays.

Thank Gabbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. The safety of our guests is our top priority (second only to fun!). If you are looking to avoid large groups, we recommend contacting our Director of Guest Services at mruthke@portdiscovery.org prior to your visit so that you can get a heads up on how many groups we have booked for the day. We hope that you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My son is 18 months old and we took him to Port Discovery today. On Tuesday and Thursday afternoons they currently have a special for $8 per person (under 2 free). Great deal, not sure how long it will last.

He loved the toddler area. Great for kids under 3. Has several parts, from the tidal wave area (mats and some toys), sand dunes to walk over, sand box to play in, and also a forest area to run around and hide. He even liked playing with the butterfly nets trying to catch the flying butterflies as they fell from the fan.

The water room was okay. The big bubble machine didn't work. Did not seem to have enough mix in it. They offer coats and crocs for the kids to put on. Even though he had the jacket on we ended up changing his clothes. He was soaked. He loves water so this room was a hit.

Overall I would recommend this for any child from 1 - 12. They have something for all those ages. Next time I am in Baltimore I will put it on the must visit list. I am sure he will love even more attractions when he is older.

1  Thank nicemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that you and your son enjoyed your visit. We look forward to being a part of your memories for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took 3 of my grandchildren to this museum and they absolutely loved it. I use to take my daughter here also who is now 23 years old. This is a family tradition for us. The experience of this museum is top notch. I highly recommend it. My daughter also had a 12 year birthday party here.....talk about FUN!!!! Just cannot say enough, a little pricey but no more than anywhere else.

GREAT,GREAT,GREAT!!!!

Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortDiscoveryCM, Public Relations Manager at Port Discovery Children's Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Please be sure to visit our website to learn about our special discounts and discounted days. We hope that you will join us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Discovery Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Port Discovery Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing