We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Free Art Museum”

The Walters Art Museum
Ranked #3 of 229 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Free Art Museum”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Great Museum, especially Ancient Art, Asian Art, and some 19th Century Art. When we visited the museum, there was special exhibition of Japanese Art. That was OK. Also, the cafe was closed due to renovation.

There are three building connected each other. Hackerman House was hard to find because only one connection (bridge) and the house is like a maze. We enjoyed to explore the house, though.

There is a beautiful park around the museum including Washington Monument and Mt. Vernon Place United Methodist. View fron the museum is like an European scene.

Museum parking lot is located accros the museum on Cathedral St. and W. Center St. Parking guy tried to get a few more bucks pretending they do not have any change. You should bring exact amout if you do not want to pay extra.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shimo625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    198
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Collection”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I have memories here that go back to my childhood seeing the mummies and statues. My favorite is the great hall where I sang in my teens with a classical choir, an offshoot of the Peabody. And, they have wonderful shows, exhibits. Gary Vikan has been an excellent leader and will be hard to replace. He is retiring.

Helpful?
Thank Sue4452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Free and beautiful art from early Egypt, amazing roman, even Islamic early work to modern pieces. even impressionist Monet, Renoir and Manet have works here... and it is free!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank teacherinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth your time”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A beautiful museum with a very nice selection of 19th century art. Other collections are not as extensive but are very nice nonetheless.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This museum was wonderful! Beautiful collections of paintings, sculptures, weapons, etc. The most fascinating thing about this museum is the Free Admission. I've been to many other museums and paid a high admission and been less impressed. Easy to get to on free city bus from Inner Harbor. Definitely worth the time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank aeh_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walters Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Walters Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing