We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Eclectic Range of Art Work”

The Walters Art Museum
Ranked #3 of 231 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“An Eclectic Range of Art Work”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited the Walters on a January Friday morning. It was my first visit here but my wife had visited when she was younger. Admission is free!
We explored three floors of the museum and saw an eclectic range of art work and historical and some scientific artifacts. Overall, this is an excellent museum that is easy to navigate and enjoyable as well as educational. We enjoyed the Asian art displays, mummies, and several exhibits of different types of battle armor. The building's architecture is also worth noting. The 4th floor has portraits of William and Henry Walters and brief biographies.
We had lunch in the museum's dining area, Cafe Q. We had a freshly brewed latte and a cappuccino. Both went well with our food after our visit through the galleries.
Parking is available across the street in a commercial lot but it can fill up quickly. We found a convenient metered spot just across the street and up a half block. It had a four hour limit... four quarters per hour. If you spend longer, come out and add additional coins.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    203
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeRidder, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This really was a fantastic museum. I really enjoyed they special exhibits they had as well as the Medieval period exhibits. A lot of art and trendy students come here from the local college for inspiration. Excellent!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homedale, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Gem in Mount Vernon area of Baltimore”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This museum is free but the special exhibits have a seperate charge. It is worth the money! I spent two days here on a recent visit to Baltimore because generally I read all the signs associated with the items on display. This museum is excellent because Mr Walters had the museum built to house his collections of Armor, courosities, treasures, and art. There is also an excellent museum store and coffee shop. Be sure to take a break and sit down for a drink and a cake.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This museum has a solid collection that spans many world cultures. They also have interesting paid exhibits - the recent Egyptian manuscript was wonderful. Another bonus is that this museum is rarely crowded and it's a pleasure to have all the time you want to walk around and take it all in....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujata410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another Art Treasure in the Heart of Baltimore City”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Walters has many excellent works of art and history to keep you occupied for several hours.
And folks it is FREE!. Every floor is chock full of treasures to gaze upon. Throw in the availability of parking and several cool eating establishments and the Enoch Pratt a few blocks away and you have struck gold! A must see...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VacBruen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walters Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Walters Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing