We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal Museum - Best Egyption Collection in US” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Walters Art Museum

The Walters Art Museum
Ranked #3 of 224 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Museum - Best Egyption Collection in US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Super easy to find on Charles street 10 blocks straight north of Inner Harbor. This place is FREE! Make sure you go on Thursday night if possible. They are open until 9pm and even the Special Collections are open with no charge. Go to Guest Services and get the audio tour. Really good because the staff wandering around know surprisingly little about the museum. Much more casual than other top-flight museums. Take the purple line north on the free Charm City bus directly from the Gallery shopping center across from Inner Harbor. Get off at the statue of Lafayette on the horse. By-the-way, the gorgeous church caddy corner from the Walters is the site where Francis Scott Key died (in the house that was previously on the spot).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckwagon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    195
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Can't beat all this Museum has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This museum was in walking distance from our hotel, it was free(donations accepted). The building itself was beautifully located on N. Charles St. in the Mt. Vernon District of Baltimore. The Architecture of the building was gorgeous with its columns and sculptures, and marble staircases. We visited the Egyptian Mummies, Suits of Armor and I had to see the Faberge' Egg. We stayed close to 3 hours and still didn't see everything. There is something for everyone from children to adults. Great place to spend time with family or friends. I'll definitely go back on my next visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Miviw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Morning at Walters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Spent the morning with my wife at Walters Art Museum before heading to an O's game in the afternoon. Use to visit museum long time ago when in Baltimore but had not been there for years...my wife has never been there. First, it is free. There is a little cafe at the entrance if you need coffee or a snack before your visit. The place was uncrowded on a Saturday morning so the attendants were more than happy to answer questions and point out interesting facts about the exhibits. I have not been to the great museums in Paris or anywhere else, besides the Smithsonian in DC, so with that in mind I was amazed at the quality of the experience given the smaller scale of this museum. Well worth a couple hours. Would have stayed longer if time permitted. You can have a great weekend in Baltimore without spending a fortune.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagleray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
519 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Outstanding Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It always a pleasure to visit this art museum when in Baltimore. The collection is well exhibited and most instructive,

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Baltimore Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

While visiting Baltimore, I attended a party at the Walters Museum. It was a delight.
There was music and wine. I toured the exhibits which I found quite comprehensive for a small museum. My family and I also got involved with an exhibit where we were photographed.
A great time, a great place,

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coach-D_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walters Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Walters Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing