We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing railway collection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum

Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum
Ranked #8 of 224 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the site of the oldest railroad station in America, this museum traces the development of trains and features a huge collection of railroad memorabilia, a model railroad and an operating replica of the very first locomotive, The Tom Thumb, which was built here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing railway collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I liked the fact that the engines in the roundhouse were arranged in chronological order with the "Tom Thumb"( a replica) first. There were Camelbacks, Pacifics, the American 4-4-0 & the "Allegheny". It was interesting to see so many varieties of engines & be able to compare them especially with the "Big Boy" & the ones in France,Switzerland,England & of course, Australia . The "Allegheny" wasn't as pretty as the others. It is a muscle machine built for power and is on record as being the most powerful steam locomotive. Like the "Big Boy" it has to be seen for the full effect to be felt. There is also a great collection of historic railway clocks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pstanslaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    175
    35
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Mecca for Railfans and still Entertaining for Children.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I visited with my six year old granddaughter in April, 2014. There is an authentic short train ride - diesel-electric powered - and my granddaughter loved it. For railfans there is just about every type of locomotive and rail car of historic significance on display. I was so impressed I joined the Museum Society (as I can get a geezer discount.) Now that I need to consider such things the location is very handicapped or mobility accessible.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolodiNuovaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Train Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Because we have a train-loving 4 year old we always are on the lookout for train museums. This one was fine, but a little boring. Maybe because we were there early on a Sunday morning? Nice enough but I have seen better

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jrc4525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't have to be a train junkie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great museum. It was so interesting and such a selection of exhibits. I could have spent a lot more time here!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent museum in Baltimore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a treasure that we did not know about until our third trip to Baltimore. The museum is the original roundhouse restored with replicas and actual trains taking you from the beginning of the B&O to more recent trains. There are some that you can get in and walk through, many signs and information, activities for the kids, and then, you can actually ride the train. It is a short ride and doesn't really go the nicest route as far as the scenery, but our kids loved being on the train and then the Easter Bunny showed up on the train which made it even that much greater! I also loved that they had an kids engineering activity table set up in the museum for kids to build a bridge. There is also a large play area for younger kids with train tables and train rugs.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maestralaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing