We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit even with the renovation”

Baltimore Museum of Art
Ranked #6 of 247 things to do in Baltimore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Founded in 1914 with a single painting, the BMA today has 90,000 works of art-including the largest holding of works by Henri Matisse in the world.* The museum is currently undergoing an unprecedented $28 million renovation to provide visitors with a more welcoming environment and more imaginative and inspiring encounters with art. The BMA is remaining open throughout the multi-year project so that visitors can enjoy its outstanding selection of European and American painting and sculpture from the 17th through 20th centuries and the newly reinstalled Contemporary Wing with 14 galleries showcasing the art of our time. Two beautifully landscaped gardens display an array of 20th-century sculpture that is an oasis in the city. The museum's 100th anniversary will be celebrated in November 2014 with the reopening of the grand historic entrance designed by John Russell Pope and a beautiful new presentation of the museum's distinguished collection of American art. Subsequent reopenings include expanded galleries for the African and Asian art collections and a new learning and creativity center that will open in 2015. Since 2006, the BMA has eliminated general admission fees so that everyone can enjoy the power of art. * Many of the BMA's works by Matisse are part of a special exhibition traveling to museums in Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and San Antonio in 2013 and 2014. If you are visiting to see a specific artwork, please call the BMA Box Office to make sure it will be on view.
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I visited when much of the collection was traveling while the museum was being renovated, but the visit was worthwhile anyway. There is classical, modern, and contemporary art, with good explanatory material, exhibited in large, airy galleries. There was extensive street construction in the area, so the usual bus routes from Inner Harbor did not apply, but the bus driver explained how to walk there from the closest stop, and the museum's own information desk had a map showing how to get around the construction to a bus stop heading back.

Thank SophieTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cone collection"
in 93 reviews
"sculpture garden"
in 69 reviews
"cone sisters"
in 60 reviews
"contemporary wing"
in 19 reviews
"henri matisse"
in 16 reviews
"van gogh"
in 16 reviews
"nice collection"
in 19 reviews
"miniature rooms"
in 7 reviews
"old masters"
in 13 reviews
"johns hopkins university"
in 21 reviews
"free admission"
in 28 reviews
"permanent collection"
in 17 reviews
"gift shop"
in 30 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 7 reviews
"street parking"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 7 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 8 reviews
Filter

445 - 449 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The BMA is Under Construction, but what a find. I think we loved the sculpture garden the best. The Renoir, Picasso's and other finds were a delight. What a wonderful gift to the community.

Thank bthomaspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

There are really beautiful pieces of art over there, it is easy to go by bus and you can definetely spend all afternoon at the museum. When I went there I dont remeber paying for the visit, but it is better to check this info before you go. Even if you have to pay for tickets, I'm sure the price will be worth it!

1  Thank MarianaLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, Public Relations Manager at Baltimore Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and wanted to let you know that admission to the BMA's collection is always free. Be sure to come back when the American collection reopens on November 23. There will be lots more to see!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at this museum. Although many parts of the museum was closed, the 2nd floor is open and it had such a great selection of art. My favorite sculpture to see was The Thinker, I did not expect it. I will have to bring my family back to enjoy everything in the museum. I have never seen Picasso and Vincent Van Gogh so I felt very honored, and its free!

Thank Kirarana0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Wasn't going to stop there since some of the collection is on loan while they renovate the building, but glad I did. There is a free bus service that stops a half block away and the museum itself is also free - but I wouldn't have minded if they had charged the $20 something fee I pay at most NYC museums because they had some great pieces and small number of people viewing.

Thank H U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing