We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time”

Baltimore Museum of Art
Ranked #6 of 234 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Founded in 1914 with a single painting, the BMA today has 90,000 works of art-including the largest holding of works by Henri Matisse in the world.* The museum is currently undergoing an unprecedented $28 million renovation to provide visitors with a more welcoming environment and more imaginative and inspiring encounters with art. The BMA is remaining open throughout the multi-year project so that visitors can enjoy its outstanding selection of European and American painting and sculpture from the 17th through 20th centuries and the newly reinstalled Contemporary Wing with 14 galleries showcasing the art of our time. Two beautifully landscaped gardens display an array of 20th-century sculpture that is an oasis in the city. The museum's 100th anniversary will be celebrated in November 2014 with the reopening of the grand historic entrance designed by John Russell Pope and a beautiful new presentation of the museum's distinguished collection of American art. Subsequent reopenings include expanded galleries for the African and Asian art collections and a new learning and creativity center that will open in 2015. Since 2006, the BMA has eliminated general admission fees so that everyone can enjoy the power of art. * Many of the BMA's works by Matisse are part of a special exhibition traveling to museums in Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and San Antonio in 2013 and 2014. If you are visiting to see a specific artwork, please call the BMA Box Office to make sure it will be on view.
Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nestled next to Johns Hopkins Homewood Campus, the BMA is home to the Cone Sisters Impressionist Collection as well as a new Contemporary Wing and 2 wonderful outdoor sculpture gardens. Lunch, dinner or brunch, sitting adjacent the gardens is fine eating.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    166
    27
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Matisse Collection”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Museum holds a variety of art pieces. Good collection of Impressionists, Abstract Expressionists, and "Primitive" art. Museum Cafe "Gertrude'" serves gourmet dishes sourced from the Bay.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia maryland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love the BMA”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The BMA has a little of everything, love the famous Impressionist paintings it has especially. The modern art is hysterical and prompted a lot of conversation with my kids about "What IS art." The restaurant Gertrude's is great, and we love the adjoining sculpture garden. We parked on the street for free, and walked over.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thefun5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Art and a party”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was invited to a Holiday Tea at Gertrude's so I decided to arrive early and walk around the museum. Ive been to my fair share of Art museums and Im always up to visit a new one. This did not disappoint. There was a Warhol exhibit currently being shown which made my visit. Also didnt realize how much impressionist work they had. They were renovating when I went so its back on my list to visit once that is completed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Curation”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

So much of American culture is suffering from bloat that I went to BMA with misgivings - most of the big museums have fallen ill to that condition. BMA has managed to do something really important - manage an incredible collection of art--modernist painting especially--but curate it in a way that is extremely thoughtful. Individual pieces, such as the Degas Ballet Dancer, look better here than anywhere else I have seen them. The collection is showcased but in a way that makes each piece accessible. Each one feels loved, looked after, and can be gazed upon with joy. It is free, has an ok gift shop (could do with more postcards and fewer of the other things that end up there these days), and was one of the best museum experiences I have had in an age, especially in America where visiting MOMA etc has become impossible to do (and enjoy).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheUnnamable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing